Man-Lovin' Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This was good, I forgot the bacon when i went grocery shopping so I'll have to try it again with bacon next time. But I would recommend cutting out some salt. It was a bit too salty for me. Plus I have a picky eater which loves potatoes but hated this recipe because I didn't peel the potatoes. So I will peel them next time around. but other than that it was good! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I followed the recipe as is and loved the results. It was delicious!!! And it was pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My guys absolutely loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Not bad, extremely rich . . .but a quick glance at the ingredients will tell you that. I left off the Parmesan and did not boil the potatoes. Which, admittedly, made for an extremely long cooking time (almost 2 hours) but dirtied one less dish. I switched the sour cream and mayo amounts (and used plain Greek yogurt instead of sour cream) and didn't even notice. As others have mentioned, it sort of curdles in the dish. Doesn't change the taste, just looks a tad funny. I'd argue you could cut the mix back by 1/4 and be perfectly fine. I do think I prefer a roux and Au Gratin potatoes, but these were fun to try. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Everyone including the five men at our table loved this recipe. I have since served it to others, and it is always a requested recipe. One change I made is to crumble bacon on top instead of incorporating into ingredients. This keeps bacon crisp with adds texture. FYI I have recently begun to try this with other recipes that use bacon, including baked beans. The difference is amazing as the bacon does not become soft but maintains the crunchy texture which is so appealing to the palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I had to make an account to review this! Amazing. I opted for no onions but freshly minced garlic. Best potatoes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I'm giving this a 5 star! I made one time and since then it. Is constantly requested by my family and friends! I make it exact to recipe minus the bacon. This is my go to recipe from here on out! Make it, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Thank you, Old Crow for this recipe! We did make some changes (low-fat Mayo, low-fat Cream, and Cheddar not American cheese), but it was SO good! (Oh, and yes, I bought "real" bacon bits instead of cooking bacon. We had this for Thanksgiving and there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I only had baking potatoes, but prepared them as directed and it turned out great! I also had Miracle Whip, no mayo, but it tasted wonderful to us! Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
o good lord, spent twenty years looking for this. preference changes to suggest: drop the mayo and increase sour cream, or use blue cheese dressing or poppy seed dressing - have done all three double the onions and followed other folks suggestions about adding green onions as well. double the bacon, have done it with ham as well. I use russets, since thats what we raise. garlic is not used in my family, I have sprinkled some dried dill, which our family likes. the sharpest cheddar i can find for the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States