Man Loaf (Variation of the Meatloaf) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Yum! This was so good.... I just made a few changes; instead of rolling up jelly roll style I just formed half of the meat into a rectangle and sprinkled the cheese and bacon on that, then I put the other half of the meat on top. I also added jalapenos in the middle. I didn't have any Swiss cheese so I used Mozzarella on top. It is now one of my husband's favorite meals! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
OMG this was a wondeful addition to our recipe box. Made it for dinner last night for when my mom came over and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delavan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This dish was amazing!!! I cooked it for some friends and they ate it all of it! Thank you thank you thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I was dieting when I cooked this for my husband but he LOVES it!!! He went on and on for days. In his opinion it is the perfect meal and the best dinner I ever cooked! Thanks for the recipe! I made it with extra lean gound beef and I wouldn't recommend it because it is very hard to form the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Wow! Definitely not the norm when you think of meatloaf. As soon as I mentioned "man loaf" to my husband and the bacon and cheeses it had in the recipe, he was all for it. I was a little skeptical at first, but I have to admit, it was absolutely delicious! The whole family loved it, and I will definitely be making this again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I agree with WOW! This is hearty and delicious. I used mozzarella instead of swiss and it was beautiful melting over the meatloaf. Serve with extra BBQ sauce and oven browned new potatoes cooked with the meat loaf. A definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I used this recipe last night with a few additonal ingredients adding bell peppers, garlic salt, and used Heinz 57 sauce in place of the barbeque sauce. My family loved it. It was the best meat loaf I had ever put in my mouth....Thanks for the receipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by officerbo72

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I made this for my husband and he LOVED IT! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Well this is great! and my husband did love it! I made some adjustments based on what I had on hand and a few by choice. I only had 12 oz. bacon and I baked it since I find it turns out more evenly cooked. I added some Worcestershire sauce to the meat mix maybe a couple teaspoons. I used 1.5 lbs ground turkey and 0.5 lbs beef. I subbed crushed saltines for bread crumbs and shredded cheddar/jack/mozzarella mix for cheddar. For the glaze I used our usual meatloaf glaze since my husband really likes it (1/2 cup ketchup, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1 T lemon juice, and 2 teaspoons mustard). For prep I recommend reading the instructions on the Cheeseburger meatloaf recipe to get a more detailed outline of the "jelly roll" technique. Mine was really sticky and I was so glad I had the wax paper to help with the rolling. I baked it in a 9x13 glass dish, put it in for 30 min and then glazed and placed the bacon on top and returned for 30 min. I used a thermometer to time it (beeps when it gets to an internal temp of 160 and that happened almost exactly at an hour). I did not top with cheese and I am glad I put the bacon in earlier since it was not quite done at the end and I so I broiled it for a couple minutes to crisp up. To be honest I don't think it needs the bacon on top, especially after all the bacon inside. I would definitely make this again! Next time I will try to keep some of the cheese away for the edges so to cut down on leakage (even with the pinching of sides).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Really delicious, it did take a little longer to cook, but the result was wonderful. Excellent for sandwiches also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Johns Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States