Man Loaf (Variation of the Meatloaf) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Yum! This was so good.... I just made a few changes; instead of rolling up jelly roll style I just formed half of the meat into a rectangle and sprinkled the cheese and bacon on that, then I put the other half of the meat on top. I also added jalapenos in the middle. I didn't have any Swiss cheese so I used Mozzarella on top. It is now one of my husband's favorite meals! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I was dieting when I cooked this for my husband but he LOVES it!!! He went on and on for days. In his opinion it is the perfect meal and the best dinner I ever cooked! Thanks for the recipe! I made it with extra lean gound beef and I wouldn't recommend it because it is very hard to form the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I agree with WOW! This is hearty and delicious. I used mozzarella instead of swiss and it was beautiful melting over the meatloaf. Serve with extra BBQ sauce and oven browned new potatoes cooked with the meat loaf. A definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Well this is great! and my husband did love it! I made some adjustments based on what I had on hand and a few by choice. I only had 12 oz. bacon and I baked it since I find it turns out more evenly cooked. I added some Worcestershire sauce to the meat mix maybe a couple teaspoons. I used 1.5 lbs ground turkey and 0.5 lbs beef. I subbed crushed saltines for bread crumbs and shredded cheddar/jack/mozzarella mix for cheddar. For the glaze I used our usual meatloaf glaze since my husband really likes it (1/2 cup ketchup, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1 T lemon juice, and 2 teaspoons mustard). For prep I recommend reading the instructions on the Cheeseburger meatloaf recipe to get a more detailed outline of the "jelly roll" technique. Mine was really sticky and I was so glad I had the wax paper to help with the rolling. I baked it in a 9x13 glass dish, put it in for 30 min and then glazed and placed the bacon on top and returned for 30 min. I used a thermometer to time it (beeps when it gets to an internal temp of 160 and that happened almost exactly at an hour). I did not top with cheese and I am glad I put the bacon in earlier since it was not quite done at the end and I so I broiled it for a couple minutes to crisp up. To be honest I don't think it needs the bacon on top, especially after all the bacon inside. I would definitely make this again! Next time I will try to keep some of the cheese away for the edges so to cut down on leakage (even with the pinching of sides).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Wow! Definitely not the norm when you think of meatloaf. As soon as I mentioned "man loaf" to my husband and the bacon and cheeses it had in the recipe, he was all for it. I was a little skeptical at first, but I have to admit, it was absolutely delicious! The whole family loved it, and I will definitely be making this again in the near future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Huge hit at my man filled house! Other reviewers were correct in saying the swiss formed a hard crust on top. Next time I may skip the bacon on top and add mozzarella only towards the end of cook time. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I used this recipe last night with a few additonal ingredients adding bell peppers, garlic salt, and used Heinz 57 sauce in place of the barbeque sauce. My family loved it. It was the best meat loaf I had ever put in my mouth....Thanks for the receipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by officerbo72

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
My husband wasn't too sure about this recipe but it was a huge hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Nealy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglass, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
My boyfriend loved this. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcake_cute_foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
My son who gags at meatloaf says I can make this anytime and it is now one of his favorite meals. Thank you!!!!!!!! The only change I made as others did was use Mozeralla cheese instead. The best meatloaf EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States