Mam's Black Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by christiwill
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Loved this! After reading other reviews, made the following changes: melted the butter, cut the nutmeg and cloves in half, and dusted the top with powdered sugar after it cooled just to make it pretty. Since it made 3 cakes, I was able to share two with my friends' families too. :) Super delicious and much more moist than the thick batter had me expecting. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is a delicious cake. I added a little bit of vanilla extract to the batter and doubled the blackberries. Unfortunately, I made this cake in a bundt pan and it cratered once removecd from the pan to the wire rack to finish cooling. Not sure what I did wrong. If anyone has any feedback, please let me know! Other than that, delicious and moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made this cake following the recipe, including the raisins. Because there was no photo, I wasn't sure I wanted to make three 8-inch cakes, so I used a 9x13 pan and baked it for 45 minutes. It was golden, dense, moist, and delicious with coffee--I ate it for breakfast for days on end! It was sweet enough with the fruits, and didn't need any sort of frosting/glaze. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
one of my favorite recipes....i make it every year with fresh blackberries from the farmers' market...i usually omit the raisins and add more blackberries, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
A nice moist cake. the only disappointment i had is i was looking for something with a little more raspberry flavor. however i did use wild blackberries and i have to cook and strain them to remove the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brelax27

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I made some changes (surprise!, lol). I wanted the blackberries to be the star. So, double the blackberries and no raisins. Fake buttermilk (who keeps buttermilk in the fidge?!?). 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and cloves and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. The spices are there - but in the background and supporting the flavor of the blackberries. I used a 9x13 glass pan and cooked for 55 minutes; PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I make this recipe whenever I find fresh raspberries for a cheap price. I'm very fond it. Normally I make it with all whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I did not have raisins and used dried cranberries in place of them. I baked them as 8 baby bunts instead of the three layers and then glazed them with a simple brown sugar glaze(butter, brown sugar & vanilla) and sprinkled them with them with toasted pecan pieces. They were a huge hit!!!! Tho we discovered quickly even a baby bunt needed to be shared. Thank you sooooooo much for sharing this recipe!!!!!!!!! It will become a permanent one in my desert file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSPrasek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Texas, USA
Living In: Splendora, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
The whole family loved this recipe. I doubled the blackberries and omitted the rasins, nutmeg and cloves. If you cant eat the whole cake at once it freezes well. I will defanetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Countrygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muldrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Delicious! I took the others' advice: doubled up the blackberries & omitted the raisins. I also made the "fake" buttermilk by adding 2 T. lemon jce. to 2 cups milk & letting it sit for 10 min. I chose to use the entire amts. of cinnamon, nutmeg & cloves but it is VERY strong-flavored! Personally, I love it. But it might not be a bad idea to decrease the spices to 3/4 t. or maybe even 1/2 tsp. if you don't care for the strong flavor. It does overwhelm the blackberry and leaves a clovey taste in your mouth. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States