Mam's Black Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by christiwill
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Loved this! After reading other reviews, made the following changes: melted the butter, cut the nutmeg and cloves in half, and dusted the top with powdered sugar after it cooled just to make it pretty. Since it made 3 cakes, I was able to share two with my friends' families too. :) Super delicious and much more moist than the thick batter had me expecting. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is a delicious cake. I added a little bit of vanilla extract to the batter and doubled the blackberries. Unfortunately, I made this cake in a bundt pan and it cratered once removecd from the pan to the wire rack to finish cooling. Not sure what I did wrong. If anyone has any feedback, please let me know! Other than that, delicious and moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I made this cake following the recipe, including the raisins. Because there was no photo, I wasn't sure I wanted to make three 8-inch cakes, so I used a 9x13 pan and baked it for 45 minutes. It was golden, dense, moist, and delicious with coffee--I ate it for breakfast for days on end! It was sweet enough with the fruits, and didn't need any sort of frosting/glaze. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
one of my favorite recipes....i make it every year with fresh blackberries from the farmers' market...i usually omit the raisins and add more blackberries, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
A nice moist cake. the only disappointment i had is i was looking for something with a little more raspberry flavor. however i did use wild blackberries and i have to cook and strain them to remove the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brelax27

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I made some changes (surprise!, lol). I wanted the blackberries to be the star. So, double the blackberries and no raisins. Fake buttermilk (who keeps buttermilk in the fidge?!?). 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and cloves and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. The spices are there - but in the background and supporting the flavor of the blackberries. I used a 9x13 glass pan and cooked for 55 minutes; PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I make this recipe whenever I find fresh raspberries for a cheap price. I'm very fond it. Normally I make it with all whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I did not have raisins and used dried cranberries in place of them. I baked them as 8 baby bunts instead of the three layers and then glazed them with a simple brown sugar glaze(butter, brown sugar & vanilla) and sprinkled them with them with toasted pecan pieces. They were a huge hit!!!! Tho we discovered quickly even a baby bunt needed to be shared. Thank you sooooooo much for sharing this recipe!!!!!!!!! It will become a permanent one in my desert file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSPrasek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Texas, USA
Living In: Splendora, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
The whole family loved this recipe. I doubled the blackberries and omitted the rasins, nutmeg and cloves. If you cant eat the whole cake at once it freezes well. I will defanetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Countrygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muldrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Delicious! I took the others' advice: doubled up the blackberries & omitted the raisins. I also made the "fake" buttermilk by adding 2 T. lemon jce. to 2 cups milk & letting it sit for 10 min. I chose to use the entire amts. of cinnamon, nutmeg & cloves but it is VERY strong-flavored! Personally, I love it. But it might not be a bad idea to decrease the spices to 3/4 t. or maybe even 1/2 tsp. if you don't care for the strong flavor. It does overwhelm the blackberry and leaves a clovey taste in your mouth. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States