Mamon (Sponge Cakes) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This recipe created so much batter that I baked one small cake (in one of those gigantic muffin-shaped cake pans) and a dozen muffin-sized cakes. I didn't have any oranges to zest, so I used lemons instead. I first checked for doneness at 35 minutes and found that the muffin-sized cakes were overcooked and dried out, and my larger cake was right on. The cake didn't taste like any mamon I've had before, but that's likely because I used lemon instead of orange peels. I thought the muffin-sized cakes were dry and probably won't make that size again. Having said that, the resulting lemon cake from the larger pan was absolutely delicious and won rave reviews from friends even three days after baking. It stayed moist and flavorful (those bits of fresh peel burst into every bite. I frosted the cake with an airy, light buttercream, and the results were fantastic. I'm not a huge lemon cake fan, but I will make this again and again. And I'll be trying it with orange peel in the very near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Weaver-Beal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
It taste perfectly like my favorite mamon, just the way i want it. This would also be a good recipe for birthday cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hazel Joyce Jose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Quezon City, Quezon, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Wonderful and I will bake this again. This is easy. Thank you Lola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daiv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sergeant Bluff, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This recipe doesn't taste like the store bought mamon I've had but it is still pretty good...fluffy and not too sweet. I believe using cake flour next time and folding in the egg whites a little at a time gradually along with the flour (instead of mixing it in with the egg yolks) will create a more delicate cake. I cut the recipe in half and was able to make 2- 6" rounds...baked in my Wilton aluminum pans at 325 degrees for 30 mins. They puffed up beautifully. The only change I made was instead of the 1/3 cup of water and oj I used 2/3 cup of milk and omitted the grated orange peel because I don't care for citrus flavored cakes and pastries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
My Lola loved these, and she usually only likes what she makes herself. I followed the recipe exactly and the cakes came out light and fluffy. I brushed the tops w/ melted butter & added a little bit of sugar and cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
i made this recipe as a base for my "Crema de Fruta" cake. I changed the number of servings to just 12 and it had such a great proportion! It was yummmy!! I will do this again...and again!!! thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakeybabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Had I read the top review more carefully, I wouldn't have my mamon come out so dry. The taste was good, but after 35 min of baking, it came out very dry. As long as you watch the time carefully, it should be very delicious. I would definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This was light and flavorful~ I am making this again for sure!! Thank you for the recipe~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
A VERY GOOD base for all kinds of desserts, depending on how you fill or glaze it. I made it in one BIG round cake and so needed a 50 minutes cooking in the oven (last 15 minutes I reduced heat though). My tiny changes : no cream of tartar, replaced half water-half orange juice by the whole orange juice. My suggestions : served with strawberries and wiped cream : yumyumyum ! (orange and strawberries fit together prefectly), second time served with apricot jam inside and a dark chocolate coat : yumyumyum again ! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was a great recipe! However, when my mom made mamon, it was dense and rich instead of light and fluffy. Looks like I need to ask my mom for her recipe still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Individual Chocolate-Amaretto Lava Cakes

See how to make individual chocolate cakes with an amaretto center.

French Butter Cakes (Madeleines)

These traditional airy cookie-cakes are light and lovely.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States