Mammaw's Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
These came out very eggy for me and soft. I'm not sure if I did something wrong, or if they're supposed to be like this but I got no crunch at all. The batter seemed like the right texture but the waffles definitely weren't. I will give these a second shot in the morning after the batter sits overnight but I don't have high hopes unfortunately. They tasted fine, but the texture just wasn't very waffle-like; more like pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
Easy to make. My husband who hated waffles liked them. My picky daughter ate one, but my son who eats everything would not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
For 2 generations my family has been beating eggwhites to make waffles....now I've found this recipe that is SO much easier to make, and is DELICIOUS! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
Makes good waffles. I added some vanilla for more flavor. I like the make-ahead feature a lot - saves time in the morning when you need to put breakfast on the table in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
This was quick and easy and the waffles are extremely light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
These are fabulous waffles and so quick & easy to make. I altered the recipe a bit by using only 1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour, 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour, 1/2 t. of vanilla extract, 1/2 t. of cinnamon, dash of nutmeg and sprinkled pecans of the batter after pouring it into the iron. My husband raved over these waffles! By the way, left over batter rises beautifully in the fridge, making the next day's batch of waffles even fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
These were some of the best waffles!!!!! So easy,to think I have been beating egg whites,never again!!! Husband like them too.I made the batter up the night before and made them in the AM.I had some batter left over and just put it back in the frig and used today! I thought they were better today then when I made them up yesterday!!Thanks for sharing the recipe Mari
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
This is definitely the quickest yeast-based waffle recipe I have tried. Of course, the yeast seems to be present mostly for flavor, as the recipe includes both baking powder and soda. I was terribly disappointed in the results; the waffles were tough and tasted extremely yeasty. Adding twice as much oil or butter and extra sugar seemed to help a little, but these waffles tasted nothing at all like the traditional yeast-leavened variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This recipe is easy to make, with readily available ingredients, but here's the best part: It makes wonderful pancakes! I found this out purely by chance when my waffle iron gave out. The pancakes were light and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
These waffles were pretty good but I think I'll stick with my regular waffle recipe. The good thing about this recipe is that you can make the batter the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States