Mammaw's Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
After reading all the reviews was looking forward to these waffles. A bit disappointing, 1/4 cup of mix wouldn't cover the bottom of my waffle iron, I have a larger belgium waffle maker, maybe others are using smaller iron. I got 4 full size waffles and about 1/2 of another. The batter was a bit runny but did cook up fine, but was not crunchy on the outside but soft and we were not fussy on these. I did freeze the ones we didn't eat as my grand daughters will eat them, but personally will stick with my old recipe. I followed recipe and only changed oil for apple sauce, everything else remained the same. I'm glad others found these so nice but I will not be using this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe with a couple changes. I added 1 tsp. vanilla. I also separated the eggs ans whipped the whites. I then folded the whites into the mixture. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Linwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
My family loves this recipe, its so good to make the batter the night before in the fridge. They are so fluffy and so GOOD!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
THE best waffles we've ever had. EVER. I only made one change and that's using whole wheat white flour. I kept everything else the same (only using organic where I could). I laugh at the eight servings because my boys ate every single waffle I made. I made Absolute Best Pancake Syrup special to go with these waffles and it really just.....wow. Really off-the-charts yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
These were just what I have been looking for. They taste like the waffles I remember as a kid. I make "hot" breakfast at least 5 days a week, so I have been through a TON of waffle recipes. This is my new "go-to"!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Finally, a waffle that is light, fluffy, and flavorful! These were excellent...we added a little vanilla, and maybe a tsp of flour to thicken it up, but otherwise it was perfect. Just like a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I followed this recipe the way it was written and they were delicious. The batter is on the thin side, which is why I think they are so crispy. We prefer lighter and crispy waffles, rather than thick. Very good. Probably won't use Bisquick again unless there is a big time crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkmarcoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Maybe I did something wrong, it was very runny. Tasted ok, texture was perfect, lightly crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
This is a pretty good little waffle recipe. I was happy with the consistency and taste and only made a couple modifications. I added 2T. of sugar and a 1t. vanilla. Our family likes a little sweeter waffle. Preparation was fairly simple. I would recommend and share this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
These are really great waffles. They are so light and fluffy, and crisp on the outside. I used half whole wheat pastry flour and you couldn't even tell any whole wheat was in there. My kids just loved these and kept asking for more- even my one-year old (who just ate his plain). I chose this recipe because it used buttermilk and didn't involve whipping the egg whites separately. I also liked the fact that it used yeast. I have some batter leftover so I'll have to see how that is tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States