Mamma Rita's Eggs and Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
Very good! Simple, tasty and colorful. Great with garden fresh tomatoes. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
This is comfort food at its best. It reminds me of my Nonna's cooking...simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Easy to make and very tasty! I like that the egg white don't get dry like sunny-side-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I just have to say that I *love* recipes that are so simple with just a few ingredients, but are so delicious. This was so good! I served it on some buttered homemade sourdough toast. Definitely will be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This was excellent. I did add a clove of crushed garlic to the pan before I put the tomatoes in. I did take the seeds out of the tomatoes first and there was still quite a bit of liquid that took more than 3-5 minutes to reduce. That said, it was just a wonderful meal. Thank you for this recipe! Oh, served it with toasted homemade country bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weehawken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I just made this dish not twenty minutes ago, it was amazing, I had it with some toasted Italian bread, and it is absolutely to die for and it doesn't take at all long to cook I love it thank you so much for posting this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This dish is delicious and very easy to make. Great for breakfast. I'm glad to have found it. I have no suggestions, it's wonderful the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This is so easy to make and so perfect when you have tomatoes from the garden. We love it and make it all the time when tomatoes are in season. We've begun adding other yummy veggies like mushrooms and squash with complete success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZANNE_STAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Having just returned from Italy and the Tuscany region, I was introduced to this dish. Though I couldn't imagine the combination of eggs and tomatoes, I was happily taken by surprise. This recipe represents the same dish I had in Italy and should be tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I was so intrigued, just had to try this with canned tomatoes since they're not in season. I didn't even use the olive oil, just tossed the tomatoes in the pan, heated them and then poached the eggs. We made it into a Mexican-style dish, putting the eggs and tomatoes on a tortilla with beans and cheese, etc. So yummy and we were amazed how tender and moist the eggs were. Yummy and great! TFS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States