Mamma Rita's Eggs and Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I was so intrigued, just had to try this with canned tomatoes since they're not in season. I didn't even use the olive oil, just tossed the tomatoes in the pan, heated them and then poached the eggs. We made it into a Mexican-style dish, putting the eggs and tomatoes on a tortilla with beans and cheese, etc. So yummy and we were amazed how tender and moist the eggs were. Yummy and great! TFS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Having just returned from Italy and the Tuscany region, I was introduced to this dish. Though I couldn't imagine the combination of eggs and tomatoes, I was happily taken by surprise. This recipe represents the same dish I had in Italy and should be tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
This is comfort food at its best. It reminds me of my Nonna's cooking...simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I loved this growing up. Having grown up in a Italian household this was my choice of food when I wanted a fast breakfast, lunch or dinner. Still love eating it. This is the best!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My dad used to make this all the time. I was so excited to see the recipe here! I made it for dinner tonight and my husband gave it a two thumbs up. I did two things differently: 1) I removed the skins from the tomatoes by plunging them into hot water, and 2) I gently sauteed chopped onions with the oil before adding the chopped tomatoes. Next time I'll try this with sauteed tri-color bell pepper and kick it up a knotch by adding a few flakes of chili pepper. Adding fresh chopped up Italian herbs also adds great flavour. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
mmm... I picked the last of this season's Roma tomatoes today and chose this recipe so I could enjoy their fresh taste. And enjoy it I did! Couldn't resist adding some fresh basil to the tomatoes (I used 6 small-ish peeled romas per one egg, quartered) and a small amount of sugar. Just the right proportion of sauce to poach the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This is so easy to make and so perfect when you have tomatoes from the garden. We love it and make it all the time when tomatoes are in season. We've begun adding other yummy veggies like mushrooms and squash with complete success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZANNE_STAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This dish is delicious and very easy to make. Great for breakfast. I'm glad to have found it. I have no suggestions, it's wonderful the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Easy to make and very tasty! I like that the egg white don't get dry like sunny-side-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
Very good! Simple, tasty and colorful. Great with garden fresh tomatoes. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States