Mamma Rita's Eggs and Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
This is comfort food at its best. It reminds me of my Nonna's cooking...simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
Very good! Simple, tasty and colorful. Great with garden fresh tomatoes. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Easy to make and very tasty! I like that the egg white don't get dry like sunny-side-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This dish is delicious and very easy to make. Great for breakfast. I'm glad to have found it. I have no suggestions, it's wonderful the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This is so easy to make and so perfect when you have tomatoes from the garden. We love it and make it all the time when tomatoes are in season. We've begun adding other yummy veggies like mushrooms and squash with complete success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZANNE_STAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sellersville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Having just returned from Italy and the Tuscany region, I was introduced to this dish. Though I couldn't imagine the combination of eggs and tomatoes, I was happily taken by surprise. This recipe represents the same dish I had in Italy and should be tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I was so intrigued, just had to try this with canned tomatoes since they're not in season. I didn't even use the olive oil, just tossed the tomatoes in the pan, heated them and then poached the eggs. We made it into a Mexican-style dish, putting the eggs and tomatoes on a tortilla with beans and cheese, etc. So yummy and we were amazed how tender and moist the eggs were. Yummy and great! TFS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I just have to say that I *love* recipes that are so simple with just a few ingredients, but are so delicious. This was so good! I served it on some buttered homemade sourdough toast. Definitely will be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Don't know what I did wrong here. it's a simple recipe. I didn't have french or italian bread; instead I used onion rolls I already had...didn't think that would matter. Tomatoes too ripe? There was so much juice I ended up cooking the eggs in a separate pan. Granted, I've never tried this recipe, but I couldn't imagine cracking an egg into so much liquid. The end result was inedible. Bland.... Maybe this needs to have the sentimental value attached to taste right. Sorry, but I had my first failed and disappointing experience w/ an allrecipes.com recipe tonight. The only saving grace was the hamburger staek w/ gravy I prepared on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was pretty good. Easy to make. The eggs took a lot longer than expected to cook with all the liquid from the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States