Mamma Rita's Eggs and Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I have never eaten tomatoes with eggs before. Growing up, my family took "plain food" to the next level! This was so simple, easy, and just plain delicious! I wouldn't recommend cutting out the olive oil. Tomatoes and olive oil make an amazing taste together. Thanks for sharing this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This was excellent. I did add a clove of crushed garlic to the pan before I put the tomatoes in. I did take the seeds out of the tomatoes first and there was still quite a bit of liquid that took more than 3-5 minutes to reduce. That said, it was just a wonderful meal. Thank you for this recipe! Oh, served it with toasted homemade country bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weehawken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I just made this dish not twenty minutes ago, it was amazing, I had it with some toasted Italian bread, and it is absolutely to die for and it doesn't take at all long to cook I love it thank you so much for posting this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I added some garlic and served it all on slices of toasted, buttered rustic Italian bread. Delicious! I've also made it with canned crushed tomatoes when I don't have fresh ones, and it's pretty good that way, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
mmm... I picked the last of this season's Roma tomatoes today and chose this recipe so I could enjoy their fresh taste. And enjoy it I did! Couldn't resist adding some fresh basil to the tomatoes (I used 6 small-ish peeled romas per one egg, quartered) and a small amount of sugar. Just the right proportion of sauce to poach the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
heaven for breakfast! it was really good over some garlic ciabatta toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This was pretty good. Easy to make. The eggs took a lot longer than expected to cook with all the liquid from the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixkyej

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Don't know what I did wrong here. it's a simple recipe. I didn't have french or italian bread; instead I used onion rolls I already had...didn't think that would matter. Tomatoes too ripe? There was so much juice I ended up cooking the eggs in a separate pan. Granted, I've never tried this recipe, but I couldn't imagine cracking an egg into so much liquid. The end result was inedible. Bland.... Maybe this needs to have the sentimental value attached to taste right. Sorry, but I had my first failed and disappointing experience w/ an allrecipes.com recipe tonight. The only saving grace was the hamburger staek w/ gravy I prepared on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I just have to say that I *love* recipes that are so simple with just a few ingredients, but are so delicious. This was so good! I served it on some buttered homemade sourdough toast. Definitely will be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I was so intrigued, just had to try this with canned tomatoes since they're not in season. I didn't even use the olive oil, just tossed the tomatoes in the pan, heated them and then poached the eggs. We made it into a Mexican-style dish, putting the eggs and tomatoes on a tortilla with beans and cheese, etc. So yummy and we were amazed how tender and moist the eggs were. Yummy and great! TFS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States