Mamaw's Southern Buttermilk Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
very good! in the buttermilk i put a couple chipotle peppers in adobo. i used 2C of flour (and still had a lot left) but the whole amounts of the seasonings to make it more flavorful. i also added a TB of thyme and onion powder. i dredged them then put back in buttermilk and redredged to get a thick crust. i used boneless breasts and i think next time I will halve them along the thickness to make them thinner and just cook completely in the oil and place in a warm oven only until serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Really liked the flavor from the buttermilk soak and the seasonings in the breading. No offense to Mamaw, but there was no way I was going to waste 2Q of Buttermilk. I used about 2-2.5 cups, not reducing the hot pepper sauce or garlic, and it was fine. Also cut the flour to 2C (not changing the seasoning amounts) and still had flour left over (which we used in biscuits and gravy). These pieces wanted to brown very quickly and only took about 3-3.5 minutes per side, then all went in the oven for 45 minutes (my chicken pieces were on the small side). Had no problems with breading falling off or chicken not cooked through. Tasted good cold too and reheated nicely in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Wow... I made this recipe tonight and all the plates were cleaned! I followed the steps exactally and decided to make some gray with the left over flour breading spice mix and it was so tasty! My ten year old even loved it and my 5 year old could not stop eatig all the crunchies... Fantastic! Thank you for posting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
My family enjoyed this! I have always been nervous about making fried chicken, mostly because of the mess with splattered grease. I did not have that problem because the chicken was not fried for very long. Next time I will cut the amount of garlic powder in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luci's Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I used this as a baseline. My alteration had no sage or paprika (I have non). I used an egg with the buttermilk and did not get to soak overnight. I did find the sugar a nice touch. I used garlic powder, baking powder, sea salt (a lot in the buttermilk and the dry ingredients). I added curry powder and chicken soup base for flavor, great idea! I also used Louisiana seasoning, Cavenger's seasoning, oat flour, and fresh ground pepper. It was very juicy and moist. you can taste the sweetness of the brown sugar, makes you nibble at the crusty skin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This definately has lots of flavor. My family loved it. I wish I knew what the secret to keeping the crusty skin from falling off. Some of the pieces lost their coating. Love it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was really good. There was flavor with each bite. My husband said it was amazing and this was a keeper. I did change somethings. I used large chicken breast that I cut up. I marinated in 2 cups of buttermilk. When I had decided to make this it was the night before so I did not marinate it till 6:30am before work. My husband didnt tell me we ran out of hot sauce so I just did buttermilk and garlic powdered (i didnt have fresh garlic). After work I bought hot sauce and added it in for about 30 min then i cooked everything. The otherthing is i didnt have sage so i subsitituted it for Thyme instead. Otherwise it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
i truly liked this also but i did change a few things like i added some garlic to the buttermilk , i added salt and peper and 2T crushed hot pepers as i didnt have hot sauce , sorry but the flour was way to much i should have read the reviews before making this ,but i will know next time , and yes i would make this again ,i think you can do what you want in seasons to your taste with this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Roscommon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I made this for dinner last night and it was delicious!!! Although messy to make or maybe it's just that i am a messy cook. lol! Great recipe and i will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodartist15

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Just finished making this recipe. I followed recipe to the T. Chicken was moist but needs a bit more flavor. Next time, I will add 3 teaspoons of salt instead of 2 and less flour. For 10 pieces of chicken, this was way too much flour. I will try 2 cups flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States