Mamaw's Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I was skeptical when I saw 3 cans of soup go into this and I almost deleted it until I read the 1st reviewer which stated my concerns with the soup and that it would have a processed taste which she stated didn't. I decided to try it. I used 50% less fat Land of Lakes Margarine to cut down on the fat. It takes a 3 quart or 9 x 13 in casserole dish which isn't stated in the recipe. I decided to give this a try thinking I would regret it but not only didn't I regret it I LOVED IT. It's fast, easy and it does not have a processed taste which I expected. I warned everyone ahead of time that it might not be great but it was an easy meal. Everyone said "what do you mean it's not great we love it". I have to agree. If you're looking for a relatively fast easy meal that's tasty this one is one you might want too consider. No processed taste at all. It was done in an hour and only prep time really was cutting up the chicken breast. Only change I made was to add some Her*box chicken seasoning (which I think is the best) to the mix. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Most recipes call for the chicken to be cooked prior to baking but this one didn't and I wasn't sure about it but after an hour I pulled a chicken bit out of the center and temperature checked it and it was done. My family really liked this and I will definitely be making this again and again. It's easy and tasty. If you are in need of a fast and tasty meal this one fits the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Amazing! My kids even loved it. This will be a much used recipe in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
It was a hit with my family. I used instant brown rice instead of white. To save time I and add flavor I sauteed some onions, carrots and the chicken cubes before mixing them with the soup, rice & water. I covered it and it was done in 25 minutes. Sprinkled parmesean on the top instead of butter and put it in uncovered for 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I enjoyed this recipe as did the rest of the family. I used long grain white rice. Not instant. Boneless chicken thighs instead of chicken breast. Substituted the water with chicken broth. Added a cup of sharp cheddar based on other suggestions.1/8 tsp cayenne and 1/4 tsp poultry seasoning. Omitted the salt due to the broth. This was a great simple recipe base , very tasty. Thank you for sharing. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Loved it! Made some adjustments and added one more chk breast,1 tabls. of mined garlic and 1 cup shredded chedder cheese. If your a mom with a lil one this is a must make..My 15 month old actually finished his plate! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Surprisingly this was good and not one bit was left at the end of the meal. I know I was totally skeptical about all the cans of soup in this recipe. But it worked and it was delicious when it came out of the oven. No complicates were made at all. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I make this recipe all the time. I throw in whatever canned or frozen veggies I have on hand as well as any other spices I feel like.Sometimes I will put in some minced onion and bits of leftover shredded cheese. I always have instant rice and raw frozen chicken breast... So it is great for a working mom to do a quick defrost and throw this thing together and into the oven. My two picky girls love it (and it is a good way to sneak in some veggies)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LudaChris
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Added 1/2 tsp poultry seasoning, 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, bag of frozen chopped broccoli, and a cup or so of shredded sharp cheddar half in mix half on top. Baked covered covered 40 mins and uncovered 30 and it was done. Also added chicken bullion cube to water and dissolved before adding to mix. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I love it, I love to cook; and my wife of course love when I cook, you know woman loves when men cook for her. But this recipe she loves it, nephews, nieces etc. and this of course is my first posting. Thank you katiefbenham!!! God Bless You. Best regards Diony
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diony De Jesus

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I made a lot of adjustments to get this to be a tasty dinner--used rotisserie chicken, chicken broth instead of water, added poultry seasoning, shredded cheddar cheese, sautéed onions, mushrooms, peas and carrots, and subbed brown rice instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States