Mamaw's Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Surprisingly this was good and not one bit was left at the end of the meal. I know I was totally skeptical about all the cans of soup in this recipe. But it worked and it was delicious when it came out of the oven. No complicates were made at all. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Amazing! My kids even loved it. This will be a much used recipe in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I was skeptical when I saw 3 cans of soup go into this and I almost deleted it until I read the 1st reviewer which stated my concerns with the soup and that it would have a processed taste which she stated didn't. I decided to try it. I used 50% less fat Land of Lakes Margarine to cut down on the fat. It takes a 3 quart or 9 x 13 in casserole dish which isn't stated in the recipe. I decided to give this a try thinking I would regret it but not only didn't I regret it I LOVED IT. It's fast, easy and it does not have a processed taste which I expected. I warned everyone ahead of time that it might not be great but it was an easy meal. Everyone said "what do you mean it's not great we love it". I have to agree. If you're looking for a relatively fast easy meal that's tasty this one is one you might want too consider. No processed taste at all. It was done in an hour and only prep time really was cutting up the chicken breast. Only change I made was to add some Her*box chicken seasoning (which I think is the best) to the mix. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Most recipes call for the chicken to be cooked prior to baking but this one didn't and I wasn't sure about it but after an hour I pulled a chicken bit out of the center and temperature checked it and it was done. My family really liked this and I will definitely be making this again and again. It's easy and tasty. If you are in need of a fast and tasty meal this one fits the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Loved it! Made some adjustments and added one more chk breast,1 tabls. of mined garlic and 1 cup shredded chedder cheese. If your a mom with a lil one this is a must make..My 15 month old actually finished his plate! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I love it, I love to cook; and my wife of course love when I cook, you know woman loves when men cook for her. But this recipe she loves it, nephews, nieces etc. and this of course is my first posting. Thank you katiefbenham!!! God Bless You. Best regards Diony
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diony De Jesus

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Very tasty and a good base that has lots of options. I used Cream of Broccoli instead of Cream of Celery and I added in some frozen broccoli spears to make it a little healthier. I also used the healthy request version of the soup, less fat and sodium. No need to add the butter on top (IMO).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Son hates everything and he at this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Really yummy !!! I exchanged the Celery Soup with Broccoli, and added cheese in the mix, once it was cooked out of the oven i added Bacon Bits on top for and it was amazing!!! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as it was written and found it to be a bit bland. My boys (ages 10 and 12) and my husband liked it OK but not enough for seconds. I really wanted to like this because it is so easy. When I reheated some for lunch the next day, I added garlic powder and it was MUCH better. So...I'll make it again but will definitely add garlic. I think I'll also try adding broccoli as someone else suggested and maybe cheese. It needs some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
awesome! followed recipe, it was great. so easy to make. Husband loved it. May had some shredded cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States