Mamaw's Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is a great recipe. I usually use 2 cans of cream of chicken but forgot to go to the store. Hubby noticed and commented. It wasn't as chicken flavored as it usually is. I did replace water with chicken stock... but adding sour cream was a mistake. It overwhelmed the dish. This recipe is really good as written.. Unless you double the cream of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LudaChris
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Added 1/2 tsp poultry seasoning, 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, bag of frozen chopped broccoli, and a cup or so of shredded sharp cheddar half in mix half on top. Baked covered covered 40 mins and uncovered 30 and it was done. Also added chicken bullion cube to water and dissolved before adding to mix. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Not very tasty, sorry. I remember my mothers chicken and rice recipe and thought this could recreate that and I was wrong. I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Good basic casserole but badly in need of more spices and perhaps some cheese. I prepared it as written except used basmati (well rinsed and soaked for an hour) as well as stock instead of water. I added 1/8 tsp of garlic and extra pepper and salt. It still came out bland, yet edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I make this recipe all the time. I throw in whatever canned or frozen veggies I have on hand as well as any other spices I feel like.Sometimes I will put in some minced onion and bits of leftover shredded cheese. I always have instant rice and raw frozen chicken breast... So it is great for a working mom to do a quick defrost and throw this thing together and into the oven. My two picky girls love it (and it is a good way to sneak in some veggies)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I enjoyed this recipe as did the rest of the family. I used long grain white rice. Not instant. Boneless chicken thighs instead of chicken breast. Substituted the water with chicken broth. Added a cup of sharp cheddar based on other suggestions.1/8 tsp cayenne and 1/4 tsp poultry seasoning. Omitted the salt due to the broth. This was a great simple recipe base , very tasty. Thank you for sharing. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I love this. Will cut butter back some next time. I had a rice emergency I had to work through (only 1 cup of instant, so precooked about half way another cup of regular) otherwise followed exactly. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
did not like this at all very bland, not a hit in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Very easy and tasty recipe. I followed the directions exactly with the exception of adding 1 package of broccoli florets. I boiled the broccoli just enough to thaw them out. Added the broccoli at the last 30 minutes of cooking time. It came out perfect!! Now tonight I will take the leftovers and reheat them with melted cheese on top. So excited to have it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Cut back to two chicken breasts as I had about 32 oz. of homemade chicken soup. Used chicken broth instead of the water. Sprinkled the top with Italian bread crumbs and grated asaigo. This will be what I take to my next Pot-Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States