Mamaw's Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
As is, this recipe is a little bland but good. I made it last night for the second time and made the following changes to liven it up: *chicken broth(reduced sodium) instead of water *2 cans cream of chicken, 1 cream of mushroom, no cream of celery *seasoned the chicken with garlic and pepper prior to mixing, I did not add any salt because with the cans of soup and chicken broth this recipe has enough sodium already *used margarine instead of butter and used about half what this calls for (you could get away with not using any) 70 minutes was the perfect cook time for me I garnished this with green onions and peppered bacon (only because I had them in the fridge and they needed to be used). The bacon added great flavor. This is a good recipe as is and a great base to make your own adjustments to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I think this is my favorite recipe I've found ever. I've already made it probably a dozen times. NY whole family loves it. I make it as written, except I add a bag of frozen broccoli before I throw it in the oven. That way I can justify that it's healthy cause there's a veggie in it :) I also sprinkle cheddar on top the last 8 min of cooking.. Screaming good recipe, thanks so much for posting this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Did exactly what the directions say, and chicken not even near done. had it in for over an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Re Re Staffieri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I made this exactly as written, with the addition of some frozen chopped broccoli. It was delicious!!! Can't wait for the leftovers tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reitha
Home Town: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I have fixed this several times, & my family of 5 kids have eaten every bit of it! Tonite I used chicken broth instead of water and added shredded Cheddar cheese! The chicken broth really brought out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was delicious! I made it exactly according to the original recipe except I substituted cream of broccoli for the cream of mushroom because I don't like mushrooms, I used only 2 chicken breasts and I added some seasoned breadcrumbs for the last 30 minutes of baking. I baked it for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Next time I will mix the soups in a bowl and then pour into the casserole dish as I found it difficult to combine it well in the dish. This would also be fantastic without the chicken, which I will probably do next time too just because I'm not big on meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope Sellers Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This was a good basic recipe. I added french cut green beans and mild cheddar cheese to the top of it. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I loved this recipe. I was surprised by how yummy it was. I followed the recipe but customized it a little by adding 1/4 tsp each of basil, rosemary, and thyme and 1 tsp of garlic powder and 3 tsp chicken bouillon, since I had no broth. I also cut the butter in half because I was concerned it would be much too much. Like some of the other reviewers, I sprinkled about 1 cup of cheddar on top. The cheese and butter created the most delicious crust! I was impressed. :) Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely be making this again. Edit: Forgot to mention I used regular long-grain white rice, not instant, if that matters. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This is an outstanding casserole! The only change that I made was that I added a cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. The cheese gives it a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Made this for our wheat harvest crew! Tripled it to feed 18...I used low sodium chicken broth instead of water, and left out the cream of celery soup just because I get questions about the "green stuff" from kids:) Used fresh herbs from the garden to flavor. Every bit of it went! Baked it in my roaster on low for 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States