Mamaw's Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
made this tonight and added a dash of thyme and sage. Cut the butter by half, but added fried onions to the top in the last 5 min. Delicious! Even my picky 8 year old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Someone added cheese, when do you add the cheese and do you just put it on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Best chicken and rice and so very easy to make! I made it exactly as written. Thank you for the recipe. It will be a regular in my house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kckshops

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Villa Rica, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I made this gluten free by using (2) 12-oz boxes of Pacific Foods Organic Cream of Chicken and (1) box of Pacific Foods Organic Cream of Mushroom soups. Since this was more liquid than the canned soups, I omitted one of the cups of water and for a creamier texture added in 8 oz of reduced fat sour cream. It was easy and delicious and will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
As is, this recipe is a little bland but good. I made it last night for the second time and made the following changes to liven it up: *chicken broth(reduced sodium) instead of water *2 cans cream of chicken, 1 cream of mushroom, no cream of celery *seasoned the chicken with garlic and pepper prior to mixing, I did not add any salt because with the cans of soup and chicken broth this recipe has enough sodium already *used margarine instead of butter and used about half what this calls for (you could get away with not using any) 70 minutes was the perfect cook time for me I garnished this with green onions and peppered bacon (only because I had them in the fridge and they needed to be used). The bacon added great flavor. This is a good recipe as is and a great base to make your own adjustments to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I think this is my favorite recipe I've found ever. I've already made it probably a dozen times. NY whole family loves it. I make it as written, except I add a bag of frozen broccoli before I throw it in the oven. That way I can justify that it's healthy cause there's a veggie in it :) I also sprinkle cheddar on top the last 8 min of cooking.. Screaming good recipe, thanks so much for posting this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Did exactly what the directions say, and chicken not even near done. had it in for over an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Re Re Staffieri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I made this exactly as written, with the addition of some frozen chopped broccoli. It was delicious!!! Can't wait for the leftovers tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reitha
Home Town: Bolivar, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I have fixed this several times, & my family of 5 kids have eaten every bit of it! Tonite I used chicken broth instead of water and added shredded Cheddar cheese! The chicken broth really brought out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This was delicious! I made it exactly according to the original recipe except I substituted cream of broccoli for the cream of mushroom because I don't like mushrooms, I used only 2 chicken breasts and I added some seasoned breadcrumbs for the last 30 minutes of baking. I baked it for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Next time I will mix the soups in a bowl and then pour into the casserole dish as I found it difficult to combine it well in the dish. This would also be fantastic without the chicken, which I will probably do next time too just because I'm not big on meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope Sellers Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States