Mamaw's Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dee
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I made this recipe last night for my family. It was wonderful. I changed a few things. I cooked the onions because of my children and I added some chopped fresh broccoli to it. Everyone loved it. I also enjoyed that it was so easy and did not require too many ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dee
Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I will add the sauteed onion and carrotts ! Also the grated parmesian on top! Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
My mom made this recipe all the time when I was growing up and I have always loved it. She made it with a few changes though which is how I prepare it as well. Instead of two cups of water I use one cup of water and one cup of milk. I layer the rice on the bottom, then the chicken and then I melt the half stick of butter and mix it in with the rest of the ingredients and pour all of that on top. Then I sprinkle a thick layer of parmesan cheese on top. This is my go-to recipe when I bring someone a meal and people always say they love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Simwaka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicki Dungan Henson
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Followed a few suggested changes, broth instead of water, added frozen veggie mix that i boiled in chicken broth and salt enough to defrost, (think it would be terribly bland without the recommended salt even with briyh) cooked the chicken in sauteed onions and garlic salt(i just couldnt do uncooked chicken), doubled the recipe, replaced one of the cream of chicken soups with a campbells cheese soup because its what i had, used garlic roasted cream of mushroom soups. Sprinkled with cheddar and baked at 400 for 45 minutes. OMGoodness is it good! Family loves it. I love it. Definitely a new regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This was fantastic! I used half a Spanish onion, fresh broccoli, plenty of cheddar cheese in it and Frenchs Onion crisps on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
made this tonight and added a dash of thyme and sage. Cut the butter by half, but added fried onions to the top in the last 5 min. Delicious! Even my picky 8 year old liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Someone added cheese, when do you add the cheese and do you just put it on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Best chicken and rice and so very easy to make! I made it exactly as written. Thank you for the recipe. It will be a regular in my house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kckshops

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Villa Rica, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I made this gluten free by using (2) 12-oz boxes of Pacific Foods Organic Cream of Chicken and (1) box of Pacific Foods Organic Cream of Mushroom soups. Since this was more liquid than the canned soups, I omitted one of the cups of water and for a creamier texture added in 8 oz of reduced fat sour cream. It was easy and delicious and will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
As is, this recipe is a little bland but good. I made it last night for the second time and made the following changes to liven it up: *chicken broth(reduced sodium) instead of water *2 cans cream of chicken, 1 cream of mushroom, no cream of celery *seasoned the chicken with garlic and pepper prior to mixing, I did not add any salt because with the cans of soup and chicken broth this recipe has enough sodium already *used margarine instead of butter and used about half what this calls for (you could get away with not using any) 70 minutes was the perfect cook time for me I garnished this with green onions and peppered bacon (only because I had them in the fridge and they needed to be used). The bacon added great flavor. This is a good recipe as is and a great base to make your own adjustments to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States