Mamaw's Chicken and Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This was a good basic recipe. I added french cut green beans and mild cheddar cheese to the top of it. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I loved this recipe. I was surprised by how yummy it was. I followed the recipe but customized it a little by adding 1/4 tsp each of basil, rosemary, and thyme and 1 tsp of garlic powder and 3 tsp chicken bouillon, since I had no broth. I also cut the butter in half because I was concerned it would be much too much. Like some of the other reviewers, I sprinkled about 1 cup of cheddar on top. The cheese and butter created the most delicious crust! I was impressed. :) Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely be making this again. Edit: Forgot to mention I used regular long-grain white rice, not instant, if that matters. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This is an outstanding casserole! The only change that I made was that I added a cup of shredded sharp cheddar cheese. The cheese gives it a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Made this for our wheat harvest crew! Tripled it to feed 18...I used low sodium chicken broth instead of water, and left out the cream of celery soup just because I get questions about the "green stuff" from kids:) Used fresh herbs from the garden to flavor. Every bit of it went! Baked it in my roaster on low for 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Casserole was good, but next time I'll use chicken broth instead of water and maybe add some broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I love this recipe! I add a packet of onion soup mix with mine and use low sodium condensed soups and I don't add salt because it's salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I made a lot of adjustments to get this to be a tasty dinner--used rotisserie chicken, chicken broth instead of water, added poultry seasoning, shredded cheddar cheese, sautéed onions, mushrooms, peas and carrots, and subbed brown rice instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Was mushy and bland. Followed exact directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This is a great recipe. I usually use 2 cans of cream of chicken but forgot to go to the store. Hubby noticed and commented. It wasn't as chicken flavored as it usually is. I did replace water with chicken stock... but adding sour cream was a mistake. It overwhelmed the dish. This recipe is really good as written.. Unless you double the cream of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LudaChris
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Added 1/2 tsp poultry seasoning, 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, bag of frozen chopped broccoli, and a cup or so of shredded sharp cheddar half in mix half on top. Baked covered covered 40 mins and uncovered 30 and it was done. Also added chicken bullion cube to water and dissolved before adding to mix. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States