Mamaw Thelma's Instant Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I made this with high hopes. I used Hungry Jack instant potatoes. It just didn't have any real taste to it. It could have been just me but I wouldn't make it again. My husband said, you tried something new, didn't work; no biggie! I appreciate trying it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ncbeachchick

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
i do not know if it matters what brand of instant potatoes you use, but i used Kroger, and this came out like potato soup. made an additional cup of flakes with one cup boiling water, added to the cold first batch, and it corrected the consistency problem, but had to double all the other ingredients to adjust the taste. to each serving, added a hard boiled egg, a little fresh ground pepper and garlic salt, and it was a nice quick substitute for potato salad from scratch. will play with the recipe and post my findings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This does taste like potato salad with the mustard and mayo but then all you can taste is the cardboard taste from the insant mashed potatoes. I had to add another half cup to cup of the flakes and I only added 1 tbls of the milk. I would not make this again, my kids wouldn't eat it they said it looked like baby food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This works well as a "mashed potato salad" if you're really broke and you want to make a cheap side out of whatever you have in your cupboard. Usually, you'll always have potato flakes on hand. To make it a little....more pleasing, I would recommend you use low sodium or organic chicken broth to reconstitute the potatoes and instead of milk you use a little sour cream. You can add what you would to this potato salad to make it more hearty, just like you would a regular potato salad like chopped celery, eggs and bacon. It's great in a pinch and it's always super filling and it's never the same as it was the last time. GREAT for White Trash Parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
ive made this type of potato salad with leftover mashed potatoes. this version is ok it didnt have alot of taste i had alot leftover. i wont make it again but its an ok idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
i made this last nite. good. my kind of recipe. fast and easy. i used the ingredients i had on hand. i didnt have milk. i wetted the flakes and microwaved it. then added mayo, mustard,relish, salt. no measuring. it was good. it could be better but you cant beat the convenience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I did not care for this. Mine tasted okay, but the consistency was like loose grits. The amount of liqued in this recipe was twice what the potato box called for, and I could never add enough additional potatoes to get it right. I don't think I'll be trying this one again, easy as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
So easy, and my kids love it!! This tastes so much like my mom's homemade Potato Salad, but I can make it so quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I wanted to like this. Flakes never softened. It's a great idea- but next time I would cook the instant potatoes in the microwave like I usually do, then add the mayo, relish, mustard, & onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Oh this is a very great recipe...quick and easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Haskell, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States