Mama's Tomato Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
As I read the reviews of this simple recipe, my eyes filled with tears. My mother (Alabama born and bred) also made this and I've served it to my family for many years. Reading your memories made me miss her so much. I also use tomato sauce instead of paste and a can of petite diced tomatoes at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
also Louisiana grown... we too loved mama's tomato gravy... only difference was mama also added a can of tomatoes close to the end... as it was starting to thicken.... hummmm now i am so hungry for this... also... for supper she would make this and throw in shrimp... a quick fake etoofay.... lol... good...thanks for the memories... gonna go make some now,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIGI70056

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Love this recipe!! I grew up in TN, my Grandma would make this with biscuit and she made it often...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
It was good, it was easy, but it was not MY mama's tomato gravy. Don't get me wrong, this is good. But when it comes to southern childhood favorites, you want it to taste the way you remeber. I don't think she every used paste, just a can of whole tomatoes smushed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I've made Tomato Gravy in the past, but never had actually seen a recipe for it. I didn't have tomato paste, so used tomato sauce instead (just used a tad more flour to make sure it would thicken) and once the gravy started thickening, I added some Petite diced tomatoes. We use this over rice... never had over biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watson, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Belle Chasse, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
So Yummy - I grew up on this recipe. I also add the canned whole tomatoes with the paste to make it chunky and serve it over white rice and pork chops. This is one of my cajun faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Oh My Goodness! I am so excited about this recipe. I am currently a Seattle-ite, but originally from Mississippi. My great great Aunt Karesta-Jane used to maked this for us and it was so good. I made a batch, and it brought back so many wonderful memories. I did add some sausage to it, b/c that's the way I remember it, but it was perfect. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Since before we were married my DH asked me to make Tomato Gravy...I though ugh yuck. How little did I know, and how wonderful is this recipe! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyButler1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I prepared Mama's tomato gravy over biscuits this past week and it seems that I never get tired of it. It never fails to bring memories of my beautiful Mama to my heart and mind. If you tried this recipe using butter and liked it...please try it again using the bacon drippings. This ingredient really helps complete this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Dommert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is really good. I didn't have any bacon fat, so I used butter. And, it was good; it was really good. I served over "leftover" meatloaf. I can see using this recipe in endless ways. It was very easy and I'll be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States