Mama's Tomato Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
also Louisiana grown... we too loved mama's tomato gravy... only difference was mama also added a can of tomatoes close to the end... as it was starting to thicken.... hummmm now i am so hungry for this... also... for supper she would make this and throw in shrimp... a quick fake etoofay.... lol... good...thanks for the memories... gonna go make some now,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIGI70056

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Oh My Goodness! I am so excited about this recipe. I am currently a Seattle-ite, but originally from Mississippi. My great great Aunt Karesta-Jane used to maked this for us and it was so good. I made a batch, and it brought back so many wonderful memories. I did add some sausage to it, b/c that's the way I remember it, but it was perfect. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
So Yummy - I grew up on this recipe. I also add the canned whole tomatoes with the paste to make it chunky and serve it over white rice and pork chops. This is one of my cajun faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
my step mother would make this when i was growing up. I havent had it in years. Glad i found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I've made Tomato Gravy in the past, but never had actually seen a recipe for it. I didn't have tomato paste, so used tomato sauce instead (just used a tad more flour to make sure it would thicken) and once the gravy started thickening, I added some Petite diced tomatoes. We use this over rice... never had over biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watson, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Belle Chasse, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Love this recipe!! I grew up in TN, my Grandma would make this with biscuit and she made it often...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I prepared Mama's tomato gravy over biscuits this past week and it seems that I never get tired of it. It never fails to bring memories of my beautiful Mama to my heart and mind. If you tried this recipe using butter and liked it...please try it again using the bacon drippings. This ingredient really helps complete this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Dommert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
As I read the reviews of this simple recipe, my eyes filled with tears. My mother (Alabama born and bred) also made this and I've served it to my family for many years. Reading your memories made me miss her so much. I also use tomato sauce instead of paste and a can of petite diced tomatoes at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I like to add tomatoes,too; canned or fresh. Also, this is great with grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I love this recipe! I did not have tomato paste or sauce, so I used Rotel. It definitely gave it a kick! Definitely a new staple at my house..=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States