Mama's Tomato Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I had never heard of this before, but thought it sounded interesting and had to try it. Glad I did! A very tasty alternative to sausage gravy over biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I am giving this recipe two stars because it was easy to make. My family did not like this at all. The tomato gravy I grew up eating was a beef based or cream based gravy with tomatoes chopped up in it. For my family the tomato flavor was too over powering. I much prefer the beef based gravy with chopped tomatoes and biscuits. I made this recipe as written and I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Very good and easy to make. Completely transformed plain rice into a delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayoBlues

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mayo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
It was good, it was easy, but it was not MY mama's tomato gravy. Don't get me wrong, this is good. But when it comes to southern childhood favorites, you want it to taste the way you remeber. I don't think she every used paste, just a can of whole tomatoes smushed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Since before we were married my DH asked me to make Tomato Gravy...I though ugh yuck. How little did I know, and how wonderful is this recipe! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyButler1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I love this recipe! I did not have tomato paste or sauce, so I used Rotel. It definitely gave it a kick! Definitely a new staple at my house..=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I like to add tomatoes,too; canned or fresh. Also, this is great with grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
As I read the reviews of this simple recipe, my eyes filled with tears. My mother (Alabama born and bred) also made this and I've served it to my family for many years. Reading your memories made me miss her so much. I also use tomato sauce instead of paste and a can of petite diced tomatoes at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I prepared Mama's tomato gravy over biscuits this past week and it seems that I never get tired of it. It never fails to bring memories of my beautiful Mama to my heart and mind. If you tried this recipe using butter and liked it...please try it again using the bacon drippings. This ingredient really helps complete this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Dommert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Love this recipe!! I grew up in TN, my Grandma would make this with biscuit and she made it often...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States