Mama's Tomato Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
So my first bite I was a little unsure cause I'm not used to a gravy that taste tomato-ey. After a couple bites I was hooked! So yummy and the texture on this is silky smooth. At the end I through in some fresh chopped tomatoes. Also didn't have the bacon grease so I just used butter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is really good. I didn't have any bacon fat, so I used butter. And, it was good; it was really good. I served over "leftover" meatloaf. I can see using this recipe in endless ways. It was very easy and I'll be making again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This is a little gem of a recipe. Thank you for sharing it. I have never had tomato gravy before just sauce. I used whipped dairy butter for the bacon grease, as it was what I had. I had thought to use milk instead of water. I am so glad I did not do that! The color and consistency was perfect. I made 1/2 recipe to try it out and it was so quick to make. As I eat biscuits on a rare occasion I might put some of this over some rice for lunch. TY submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This was delicious! I followed others' recommendations and added a can of diced tomatoes at the end. I use organic canned tomato products because I prefer the flavor. This was a tasty and quick dinner when served over biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I grew up on a farm in Mississippi and we ALWAYS had fresh tomatoes, This was on of one of my favorite recipes that my Grandmother would make... I always requested this for the morning of my birthdays!! I had looked in vain for a recipe for this... Brings tears to my eyes remembering sitting at the breakfast table with my grandparents and having this for my birthday! Thank you so much for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya
Home Town: Byhalia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This recipe was quick and easy to use. I had never made tomato gravy before since I am not from the south. I moved to MS 2 years ago and made this for my husband the other night. He was surprised to see that I learned how to make it and loved it. Will keep this recipe for good now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Sounds good with the bacon and I can't wait to try this version. My Grandmother is from NC and she made something similar, but with country ham. I don't remember her using the flour, but that makes it sound more like a gravy. My Grandmother made red eye gravy (coffee and ham drippings) then she'd add canned stewed tomatos and reduce. Over her biscuits, it's unbelieble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I had never heard of this before, but thought it sounded interesting and had to try it. Glad I did! A very tasty alternative to sausage gravy over biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I am giving this recipe two stars because it was easy to make. My family did not like this at all. The tomato gravy I grew up eating was a beef based or cream based gravy with tomatoes chopped up in it. For my family the tomato flavor was too over powering. I much prefer the beef based gravy with chopped tomatoes and biscuits. I made this recipe as written and I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Very good and easy to make. Completely transformed plain rice into a delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayoBlues

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mayo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States