Mama's Tomato Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
For truly Southern Alabama tomato gravy, brown 3-4 strips of bacon in the grease first. Remove to cool. Use a can of whole or diced tomatoes(I use frozen ones from my freezer or ones I have canned). Brown the flour, then add the water. Now add the bacon, after you have crumbled it into little pieces. Now, try that over rice or with a pan of biscuits. Delicious and a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
best recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I grew up with a similar "tomato gravy". The difference being the use of ham drippings (not sugar coated ham) instead of bacon drippings, tomato juice and milk instead of water and tomato paste and a couple pinches of sugar. Wonderful over ham and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I was looking for a recipe for tomato gravy, though I already had the basic idea. I used a little less bacon grease and made the roux (browned flour) then added water, canned tomatoes, salt and pepper, garlic powder, and a little milk too. It brings back good memories! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Thanks for sharing this recipe. My mama grew up in Louisiana and she made this for us when we were growing up. She died when I was 16. I made this recipe (and added some canned diced tomatoes like some other reviewers), and it tasted just like she used to make. It means so much to me to be able to make this. We always had our tomato gravy with homemade biscuits for supper. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Biscuits and tomato gravy is my all time favorite breakfast. I learned the recipe from watching my grandmother for years. The only problem I see with your version is there is no "tomatoes" in your tomato gravy. The picture shows a gravy with diced tomatoes but your recipe only calls for tomato paste. I use Rotel tomatoes for a spicier version and tomatoe sauce in place of some of the water for additional flavor. Sauteed diced onions are a nice addition also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
It was extremely easy to make. I added a half a can of diced tomatoes and smothered cubed steak in it. Also since I am gluten intolerant I substituted rice flour which was also what my cubed steaks were battered in. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I was actually looking for another recipe, when I found a recipe for this! I remember my grandmother making this when we would visit. Like her, I always save my bacon drippings to flavor other dishes, but mostly for cornbead. Since I had some drippings in the fridge, I decided to make this. So good, just like I remember. Like the other reviewers, I added some stewed tomatoes. Served over biscuits - the only way to eat tomato gravy. Thanks for posting this true Southern recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I'm a Texan who married a Mississippian. Never ever heard of tomato gravy and it sounded gross. I made it today for the first time and loved it. Go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Do not like this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States