Mama's Summer Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I had only 3 summer squash to use up so I halved the recipe. But I still used an entire onion, which I carmelized in olive oil instead of steaming. I highly recommend carmelizing the onion and also leaving the squash al dente instead of mushy. I also used the whole egg. I didn't have a "sleeve" of Ritz crackers so I had to estimate with club crackers. Since I had used a whole egg, I used enough cracker crumbs to make the whole thing come together. I also used Cheddar cheese with black pepper which made the whole thing spicier. I really enjoyed this recipe and will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Yummy. Even people who are not squash lovers will enjoy this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Delicious and easy recipe! I sliced the squash and onions in the food processor and then placed in my microwavable rice/vegetable steamer and microwaved on high for 10 minutes. I added 1/4 teaspoon of salt and freshly grated nutmeg. I crushed the crackers in the food processor and added 1/4 cup of butter. I added 1/2 of the crackers to the filling and 1/2 were sprinkled on top along with part of the cheese. Beautiful golden color was achieved after 25 minutes. Thank you Northerngirl for sharing your mother-in-law's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Delicious and easy! My grandchildren loved it! Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I didn't pre-cook squash. I added slices of pre-cooked Italian sausage and a grated carrot to make it a complete meal and used Club crackers. My husband loved it and said it was one of the best 'from the garden' recipes I've ever made! The dogs eat the leftovers and devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I haven't tried this one yet, but I'm EXTREMELY excited to soon! It is exactly like the casserole my brother's mom makes. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chompnthump

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I made this the other day and it was great. I did not have any crackers so I just used breadcrumbs. hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jsusalis
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made this with a bunch of squash a friend have me from her garden but one of then had very tough skin and I messed it up. Should've peeled that one. So the tough skin ruined it but other than that it was delish and I'd definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
was told by family , the best ever when can we have it again?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I also halved the recipe, keeping 1 whole egg, & followed It's A New Day's advice to caramelize the onion. Wow, the onion added soooo much to this dish. The dish as a whole is not very flavorful, tho, so others comments make me wonder what I'm missing. Literally all I could taste were the onions & crackers. Maybe it was just my yellow squash in January?? I almost wish I had fried it in butter or bacon grease & added seasonings before mashing it all up....IDK but I'll try this again when I have some garden fresh squash too & certainly update my rating if it does turn out to be an issue w/the squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States