Mama's Summer Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Yummy. Even people who are not squash lovers will enjoy this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I had only 3 summer squash to use up so I halved the recipe. But I still used an entire onion, which I carmelized in olive oil instead of steaming. I highly recommend carmelizing the onion and also leaving the squash al dente instead of mushy. I also used the whole egg. I didn't have a "sleeve" of Ritz crackers so I had to estimate with club crackers. Since I had used a whole egg, I used enough cracker crumbs to make the whole thing come together. I also used Cheddar cheese with black pepper which made the whole thing spicier. I really enjoyed this recipe and will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Delicious and easy recipe! I sliced the squash and onions in the food processor and then placed in my microwavable rice/vegetable steamer and microwaved on high for 10 minutes. I added 1/4 teaspoon of salt and freshly grated nutmeg. I crushed the crackers in the food processor and added 1/4 cup of butter. I added 1/2 of the crackers to the filling and 1/2 were sprinkled on top along with part of the cheese. Beautiful golden color was achieved after 25 minutes. Thank you Northerngirl for sharing your mother-in-law's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Delicious and easy! My grandchildren loved it! Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I haven't tried this one yet, but I'm EXTREMELY excited to soon! It is exactly like the casserole my brother's mom makes. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chompnthump

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This recipe totally rocks.I had to tweak it to accommodate what I had in the fridge and pantry and used Greek yogurt and Panko instead of sour cream and crackers. I also used two eggs--just because I wanted to and it was absolutely wonderful! My daughter, who is WAY into healthy eating went back for seconds...later thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I didn't pre-cook squash. I added slices of pre-cooked Italian sausage and a grated carrot to make it a complete meal and used Club crackers. My husband loved it and said it was one of the best 'from the garden' recipes I've ever made! The dogs eat the leftovers and devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
A yummy way to use summer squash. Seasonings were added as this would be bland for our tastes without any. Omitted the cheddar cheese on top thinking it might be too dry since only having 2% milk sharp cheddar cheese. Instead of that, after baking, garnished the top with grated Pecorino Romano cheese and thinly sliced green onions. The tangy Pecorino cheese really gave this a nice finishing touch. Anyone liking this recipe should try “Unbelievable Squash Casserole” on this site which is similar and also very good. Thanks Northerngirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is the classic, old school squash casserole recipe that I have been looking for! Don't change a thing! Its perfect, and I am so happy I finally found it! Made it for my husband the first time and he agreed that its the new house favorite! Great with grilled bbq chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was surprising good, for as easy as it is to prepare! I will definitely keep this one in our rotation. It is very good with yellow squash one zucchini or combination of both. I'm wondering if anyone has tried it using chayote. It sounds like that would be really good too, and recipes using chayote squash are difficult to find. Thanks for posting this! Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States