Mama's Summer Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This was such an easy recipe and it turned out wonderful!! Suzanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made this the other night, it was great! I caramelized the onion as others suggested and added crumbled bacon, because according to my kids everything is better with bacon! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Shipley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I scaled this down a bit as only 2 of us...I ended up using zucchini as I had plenty on hand. I sauteed the onions and added 1 clove of fresh garlic to the onions at the end of cooking. I only had club crackers as well...all in all a very yummy dish made this way, - thanks for the inspiration to enjoy my squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
was told by family , the best ever when can we have it again?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I made this the other day and it was great. I did not have any crackers so I just used breadcrumbs. hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jsusalis
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I made this with a bunch of squash a friend have me from her garden but one of then had very tough skin and I messed it up. Should've peeled that one. So the tough skin ruined it but other than that it was delish and I'd definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I also halved the recipe, keeping 1 whole egg, & followed It's A New Day's advice to caramelize the onion. Wow, the onion added soooo much to this dish. The dish as a whole is not very flavorful, tho, so others comments make me wonder what I'm missing. Literally all I could taste were the onions & crackers. Maybe it was just my yellow squash in January?? I almost wish I had fried it in butter or bacon grease & added seasonings before mashing it all up....IDK but I'll try this again when I have some garden fresh squash too & certainly update my rating if it does turn out to be an issue w/the squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was surprising good, for as easy as it is to prepare! I will definitely keep this one in our rotation. It is very good with yellow squash one zucchini or combination of both. I'm wondering if anyone has tried it using chayote. It sounds like that would be really good too, and recipes using chayote squash are difficult to find. Thanks for posting this! Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is the classic, old school squash casserole recipe that I have been looking for! Don't change a thing! Its perfect, and I am so happy I finally found it! Made it for my husband the first time and he agreed that its the new house favorite! Great with grilled bbq chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
A yummy way to use summer squash. Seasonings were added as this would be bland for our tastes without any. Omitted the cheddar cheese on top thinking it might be too dry since only having 2% milk sharp cheddar cheese. Instead of that, after baking, garnished the top with grated Pecorino Romano cheese and thinly sliced green onions. The tangy Pecorino cheese really gave this a nice finishing touch. Anyone liking this recipe should try “Unbelievable Squash Casserole” on this site which is similar and also very good. Thanks Northerngirl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States