Mama's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This was wonderful. The horseradish added a great zip to an old time favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I loved this potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
A definite keeper. Excellent potato salad. I pretty much followed recipe but added more horseradish because I like it and added more dill pickle. Next time may add chopped celery and chopped radish for crunch (and because that's what my mommy did).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I would add a couple more pickles...but that's because I love 'em!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I made this recipe today and my grouchy husband said, "Why can't you just make the good old fashioned potato salad?" I followed the recipe as written and it was delicious. He even liked it. It was good old fashioned mustard potato salad with a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Redenius Flahaut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
My favorite potato salad recipe yet! I made once without the eggs and it wasn't as good. Put the eggs in for the yummiest salad yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I tripled this recipe for 40+ people. My MOM wanted the mustard potato salad and I am not all that fond of mustard, so I went online to make sure I did it right. I loved the horseradish kick! I did add red wine vinegar and paprika to the top for looks! Totally worth the prep! Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Everyone really liked it!! I think I used a little too much horseradish sauce cause to me that's all I could taste, but a lot of people didn't really notice. I wished I put in celery (even though I dont like it), and I couldn't put in onion because of allergies, but it worked out well otherwise. Will certainly make again, and now I know what to improve on! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This potato salad is sooo good! I had a hard time putting it in the fridge to chill before I ate it all! Loved it. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Nice, basic recipe – classic American mayonnaise and mustard based potato salad, just the way Hubs likes it. But it was a little nondescript for me, so I had to tinker with it. I added the optional dill pickle, but I also included some sliced celery for some contrast in texture. To pretty it up a little with some color (and because I hate the aftertaste of raw, white onion) I used sliced green onion. The horseradish was a nice addition, but so subtle that it was barely noticeable, so more could be added with no risk. Rather than salt and pepper I used Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt and even more freshly ground pepper. But most important, I don’t like an overly mayonnaise-y taste, so I cut it with sour cream, to probably a ratio of 50/50. It needed to be a little gushier, so I dribbled in a little half and half, and I expect I’ll have to again tomorrow before I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States