Mama's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This was super yummy! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misslindslouu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was hands down the best Potato Salad I have ever made. My sister even insisted on taking some of it home with her. So glad I saw this recipe! Will definately make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juley0129

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
One step saver is to boil the eggs with the potatoes. I use sweet pickles. This is a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
If you are a fan of mustard-based potato salads, than this is a good one for you! I made this for a 4th of July picnic and everyone loved it. I didn't make many changes either. I did cut the recipe in half because I didn't need 5 lbs of it. The most significant change I made was to cube, and roast the potatoes instead of boiling them. I tossed them in olive oil and seasoned them with sea salt, pepper and dried dill. This not only kept them from getting mushy, but it also gave the dish another layer of flavor because I was able to season the potatoes directly. Also, adding the chopped dill pickles is a must! It brightened up the whole dish. I'm sure I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I always read the reviews for a recipe before I make it and I saw quite a few for this saying it was missing something. So after I added the Mayo I put in just about 2 Tbs. spoons of apple cider vinegar I didn't measure it exactly. I thought this made a good addition to this salad !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Awesome recipe! This is so close to my own recipe, it is astonishing. One thing...I don't consider the dill pickles to be 'optional'...they are a must. Also, I don't think I use a full 2 cups of mayonnaise when I make mine, but I DO add one incredible ingredient that makes it 'to die for'...BACON! For this volume, I think that 6-8 slices, cooked crisp, would make this the 'going away' best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Swierc Poth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This is excellent. We always made ours just like this only used sweet pickle relish instead of dill pickles and put about 1/4 cup sugar in it. Love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This recipe is very similar to my dad's. He used Webber's mustard, which has horseradish in it the only thing different in the dressing is his has a little sugar in it and celery seed as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Haugh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Just a hint.......if you boil potaoes in their jacket they are soooo much tastier. Simply boil them whole till tender, cool until you can easily handle them and peel the skins off. Depends on your kitchen experience as to whether it takes a wee bit longer to peel them this way, but if you try it once, you'll notice a BIG difference in the flavor. Also I don't add pickles of any kind to potato salad, but that's just to MY liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dike, Iowa, USA
Living In: Beaman, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I keep on trying to improve the potato salad I make. Unfortunately I am allergic to horseradish so I don't want to add this ingredient. Unfortunately too my husband loves horseradish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States