Mama's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Everyone really liked it!! I think I used a little too much horseradish sauce cause to me that's all I could taste, but a lot of people didn't really notice. I wished I put in celery (even though I dont like it), and I couldn't put in onion because of allergies, but it worked out well otherwise. Will certainly make again, and now I know what to improve on! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This potato salad is sooo good! I had a hard time putting it in the fridge to chill before I ate it all! Loved it. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Nice, basic recipe – classic American mayonnaise and mustard based potato salad, just the way Hubs likes it. But it was a little nondescript for me, so I had to tinker with it. I added the optional dill pickle, but I also included some sliced celery for some contrast in texture. To pretty it up a little with some color (and because I hate the aftertaste of raw, white onion) I used sliced green onion. The horseradish was a nice addition, but so subtle that it was barely noticeable, so more could be added with no risk. Rather than salt and pepper I used Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt and even more freshly ground pepper. But most important, I don’t like an overly mayonnaise-y taste, so I cut it with sour cream, to probably a ratio of 50/50. It needed to be a little gushier, so I dribbled in a little half and half, and I expect I’ll have to again tomorrow before I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Best I have ever made, My Husband loved it. I will be making it again. Thank you for a great potato salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Good! Liked the horseradish. Used Miracle Whip instead of mayo. Added celery and onion; didn't add pickle but it would probably be good to add both dill and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Omitted the horseradish. Used basic recipe and added my own ingredients in addition to those in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Its good. I didn't have horseradish, so I omitted it, and I poured a little of the dill pickle juice into the potatoes. Its your basic potato salad...perfect in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I only made potato salad one other time in my life (1992) and it was horrible! I was always scared to try to make it again. However, I found this recipe and decided to make it for my sons 2nd birthday party. It was a huge hit! I followed the entire recipe and only had a couple of servings left. I especially felt good since my Mom and great aunt are caterers and they said it was great! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
OMG... I used a creamed Horseradish sauce that ruined this recipe.. My bad, use very little horseradish, it overwelmed my salad.. ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very tasty! I used celery instead of onion and I left out the horseradish and added about 2 teaspoons of celery salt. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kessie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States