Mama's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I made this for my husband's birthday party bbq and it was a hit. With the egg to potato ratio it was almost like an egg/potato salad. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desaiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
A very tasty recipe. Nice & creamy with good flavor. I omitted the pickles & added a few slices of chopped bacon and added some fresh, chopped broccoli I needed to use before it went bad. Everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glen Carbon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
We must be related ;-) This is almost exactly what my mama taught me to make. We just added a little chopped celery to the mix for color and texture. mmmm-mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Alleshouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coldwater, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This was super yummy! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misslindslouu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was hands down the best Potato Salad I have ever made. My sister even insisted on taking some of it home with her. So glad I saw this recipe! Will definately make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juley0129

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
One step saver is to boil the eggs with the potatoes. I use sweet pickles. This is a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
If you are a fan of mustard-based potato salads, than this is a good one for you! I made this for a 4th of July picnic and everyone loved it. I didn't make many changes either. I did cut the recipe in half because I didn't need 5 lbs of it. The most significant change I made was to cube, and roast the potatoes instead of boiling them. I tossed them in olive oil and seasoned them with sea salt, pepper and dried dill. This not only kept them from getting mushy, but it also gave the dish another layer of flavor because I was able to season the potatoes directly. Also, adding the chopped dill pickles is a must! It brightened up the whole dish. I'm sure I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I always read the reviews for a recipe before I make it and I saw quite a few for this saying it was missing something. So after I added the Mayo I put in just about 2 Tbs. spoons of apple cider vinegar I didn't measure it exactly. I thought this made a good addition to this salad !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Awesome recipe! This is so close to my own recipe, it is astonishing. One thing...I don't consider the dill pickles to be 'optional'...they are a must. Also, I don't think I use a full 2 cups of mayonnaise when I make mine, but I DO add one incredible ingredient that makes it 'to die for'...BACON! For this volume, I think that 6-8 slices, cooked crisp, would make this the 'going away' best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Swierc Poth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This is excellent. We always made ours just like this only used sweet pickle relish instead of dill pickles and put about 1/4 cup sugar in it. Love this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States