Mama's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Everyone really liked it!! I think I used a little too much horseradish sauce cause to me that's all I could taste, but a lot of people didn't really notice. I wished I put in celery (even though I dont like it), and I couldn't put in onion because of allergies, but it worked out well otherwise. Will certainly make again, and now I know what to improve on! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanwrap

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This potato salad is sooo good! I had a hard time putting it in the fridge to chill before I ate it all! Loved it. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Nice, basic recipe – classic American mayonnaise and mustard based potato salad, just the way Hubs likes it. But it was a little nondescript for me, so I had to tinker with it. I added the optional dill pickle, but I also included some sliced celery for some contrast in texture. To pretty it up a little with some color (and because I hate the aftertaste of raw, white onion) I used sliced green onion. The horseradish was a nice addition, but so subtle that it was barely noticeable, so more could be added with no risk. Rather than salt and pepper I used Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt and even more freshly ground pepper. But most important, I don’t like an overly mayonnaise-y taste, so I cut it with sour cream, to probably a ratio of 50/50. It needed to be a little gushier, so I dribbled in a little half and half, and I expect I’ll have to again tomorrow before I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Best I have ever made, My Husband loved it. I will be making it again. Thank you for a great potato salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Good! Liked the horseradish. Used Miracle Whip instead of mayo. Added celery and onion; didn't add pickle but it would probably be good to add both dill and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Omitted the horseradish. Used basic recipe and added my own ingredients in addition to those in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Its good. I didn't have horseradish, so I omitted it, and I poured a little of the dill pickle juice into the potatoes. Its your basic potato salad...perfect in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I only made potato salad one other time in my life (1992) and it was horrible! I was always scared to try to make it again. However, I found this recipe and decided to make it for my sons 2nd birthday party. It was a huge hit! I followed the entire recipe and only had a couple of servings left. I especially felt good since my Mom and great aunt are caterers and they said it was great! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
OMG... I used a creamed Horseradish sauce that ruined this recipe.. My bad, use very little horseradish, it overwelmed my salad.. ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very tasty! I used celery instead of onion and I left out the horseradish and added about 2 teaspoons of celery salt. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kessie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States