Mama's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Nice, basic recipe – classic American mayonnaise and mustard based potato salad, just the way Hubs likes it. But it was a little nondescript for me, so I had to tinker with it. I added the optional dill pickle, but I also included some sliced celery for some contrast in texture. To pretty it up a little with some color (and because I hate the aftertaste of raw, white onion) I used sliced green onion. The horseradish was a nice addition, but so subtle that it was barely noticeable, so more could be added with no risk. Rather than salt and pepper I used Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt and even more freshly ground pepper. But most important, I don’t like an overly mayonnaise-y taste, so I cut it with sour cream, to probably a ratio of 50/50. It needed to be a little gushier, so I dribbled in a little half and half, and I expect I’ll have to again tomorrow before I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Best I have ever made, My Husband loved it. I will be making it again. Thank you for a great potato salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Good! Liked the horseradish. Used Miracle Whip instead of mayo. Added celery and onion; didn't add pickle but it would probably be good to add both dill and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Omitted the horseradish. Used basic recipe and added my own ingredients in addition to those in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Its good. I didn't have horseradish, so I omitted it, and I poured a little of the dill pickle juice into the potatoes. Its your basic potato salad...perfect in a pinch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I only made potato salad one other time in my life (1992) and it was horrible! I was always scared to try to make it again. However, I found this recipe and decided to make it for my sons 2nd birthday party. It was a huge hit! I followed the entire recipe and only had a couple of servings left. I especially felt good since my Mom and great aunt are caterers and they said it was great! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
OMG... I used a creamed Horseradish sauce that ruined this recipe.. My bad, use very little horseradish, it overwelmed my salad.. ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very tasty! I used celery instead of onion and I left out the horseradish and added about 2 teaspoons of celery salt. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kessie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Tasty! Halved the recipe, and only added one finely chopped celery stalk for crunch. I think this is my new go-to potato salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This is very good, but I agree with other reviewers that it needed a little something. I added a couple tablespoons of sugar and it really rounded it out nicely. I would imagine using sweet pickle relish instead of the dill pickles would have a similar effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States