Mama's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Love this salad, but what I didn't like is that the potatoes smush and it all becomes a heap of baby-like food. Kind of a unappetizing texture. However, the taste is nice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I halved this recipe for dinner. I doubled the mustard, omitted the horseradish and used 1/4 C. sweet relish in place of the dill pickles. (Putting the eggs and onions in the food processor gave them the perfect consistency.) This was wonderful with the substitutions for my taste. Just like the deli's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This potato salad is wonderful!! I cut down the yellow mustard a little and added some celery, but otherwise followed to the T. My new fav!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
DELICIOUS!! I used about 1/2 red potatoes (I don't bother pealing potatoes when I cook with them... adds color and texture!) and 1/2 turnips in the pot to boil; both chopped the same size. I also omitted the mustard, horsey sauce and the dill pickles, subbing a 1/4 c (or so -- eye-balled it!) of relish... and added dried rosemary at the same time as the onions (so marry the flavors...) This recipe is a great recipe to play with! I'm sure I'll make it differently next time - I'm an experimental cook ;-) It's in the fridge now, but my MIL, DH and hubby's uncle all tasted it and said it was great! There's a container of potato salad in the fridge from the grocery store.... may be taking that back (bc it's full of HFCS and preservatives -- yuck-o!) If it's anything less than rave reviews: I'll update here... I'm assuming the flavors will only get much better in the fridge!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukesMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Simple and delicious! I've made it several times for family BBQ's and always get high praise. The only thing I do differently is omit the horseradish because it's not something I ever have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neen718

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I had two russett potatoes that needed used up so I choose this recipe. I scaled everything down to fit just the two potatoes. I was out of horseradish so I used a southwest sauce (I think it was made for onion rings) and did add the pickles. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Great recipe! I used German mustard and added celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
A nice basic potatoe salad, the horse radish was new to me. I added some rosemary for a bit of perk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
omitted the pickles and added a bit of sugar in its place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homemaking101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
nuh uh. good but not my personal fave. comes out tangy and spicy and sour-y. You might like it fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 61-70 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Salad

A quick and easy, creamy potato salad.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States