Mama's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by hammyone
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
So delicious! Used Polish Dijon mustard instead of plain mustard, which already has horseradish in it. Golfed the amount of mustard in the recipe since this mustard is very strong. The mustard gave the potato salad a nice bite, without being overly spicy. The pickles provided a little sweetness which was nice. Loved having the eggs in this salad as it provided another welcomed flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was okay. Nothing outstanding and certainly not my favorite potato salad recipe. I may try it agian with a bunch of tweaking but as is, nothing fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I've made this quite a few times, and my kids and all my friends love it! My friend has already requested it for when she vistis from out of town :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Shemouny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I'm always looking for a great recipe for potato salad. Adding horseradish to potato salad was genius. I didn't change a thing and I added the optional pickles. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I liked this, pretty easy and straight forward. I used deli mustard instead of yellow mustard (ew) and the horseradish, and surprisingly it wasn't over powering. I also added green onions and used two pickles. I cant wait to see what my husband thinks! Hes kind of a potato salad snob :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I made almost exactly as written except in half since there are only 2 in our family. I did add half sour cream for half the mayo and kept the horse radish at 2 T. I also used green onions instead of white and dijon mustard and it is delicious. My new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reseda, California, USA
Living In: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
1st taste...perfect! I am not a potato salad fan but my loves it! Last time we went camping I bought a store made one and he liked it...this time I wanted to make one (I prefer making my own stuff)and I was thankful to find a recipe that was just what he likes...classic potato salad. I made it, mixed it, and gave DH a spoonful and he said it was great..no changes! Sweet!!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I leave out the horseraddish and put in fresh dill. Also, I use new red potatoes with the skins on. Perfect! This is how I remember it as a child. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mabel Johnson
Home Town: Van Wert, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monroe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Use Miracle Whip instead of mayo. More Zing. mayo is so so bland in everything.Always use it instead of mayo in all my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angell7b43
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was very good! I adjusted to my families taste and to try to cut the calories a bit, I whisked half the called for mayo and half skim milk and horse raddish mustard, then added to the potatoes. I also added some green pepper. Chilled for a couple of hours before serving. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States