Mama's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Wow! This tastes just like the potato salad you can buy at the supermarket (except better!) I made a smaller batch so I used half the mayo, half the mustard and 4 eggs. Left out the onions and used onion powder instead. Also saved time and used 1/2 jar of dill pickle relish. Fantastic! Got rave reviews at the BBQ I made this for. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CulinaryCutie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This was very good but I actually thought the other potato salad recipe on this site, Southern Potato Salad was better, thus the 4 stars. That one has garlic and I think that gives it a nice boost. This one has a more mustardy taste and a slight (very slight) zing from the horseradish. Quite a nice recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
WOW, this is awesome! I made only HALF, and after reading the reviews here I made some changes: * Organic new red potatoes were used, NOT peeled * Eggs omitted due to allergy * Green onions instead of white * Chopped celery added in equal amount to onion * Added 1/2 lb. crumbled natural bacon, drained on paper towels and fat removed * Added chopped parsley * Cut the mayo in half * Cut the mustard in half This recipe is tasty and zesty!! I LOVE the flavor imparted by horseradish. Next time I plan to use white onions, as the flavor of the green onions was overshadowed, and omit the parsley. Also I wil make the full amount, as I went through about half of this batch in one sitting!! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Delicious! I added more onion, horseradish, pickles and pepper. Next time I would use less mustard and MORE egg, but that's a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I decided to give this recipe 5 stars because it is good and it is a bit different. The horseradish came through with just the right bite. I used 1/4 cup drained dill pickle relish which had the perfect taste of dill. I think this recipe would also be good with sweet pickles. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I finally found a potato salad that I could make that was delicious. I made 5lbs yesterday for memorial day just for my family, and it was gone the same day, even my husband liked it. I will use this recipe everytime, the only thing I did different was add celery, and I didn't have any horseradish, but I will try it with that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Finally!! The perfect potato salad! Delicious and so easy to make! I did add some diced radishes for extra color and flavor! This is definately a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochelle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
liked everything exept garlic was a little too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissShannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Yum, yum, YUM! This is soooo good. I'm not normally a fan of horseradish, but my hubby loves it, and he considers potato salad one of the main food groups. I made this with red potatos, and left out the onion (just don't care for raw onion) used onion powder instead. I diced a whole jar of Klaussen(?)pickle spears to make up for the missing onion.(I think that made a difference, they are very crunchy pickles, yum) Everything else was done as the recipes says, I did try a little with some celery seed on top, and really liked that, too. Not that it needed it, I just love celery seed in my potato salad. Anyway, this will be my new recipe from now on, so delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States