Mama's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
EXCELLENT! Just what I wanted: a basic mac salad recipe. I would recommend mixing the mayo and mustard together and then slowly adding to the macaroni, to your taste (I am very particular about the amount of dressing on anything). I used the leftover mixture for deviled eggs and my mac salad was perfectly dressed. This is my new, official mac salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Grand Slam Mama! After reading the reviews, the only changes I made were decrease the mustard to 1/4 cup, add 4 Tbl apple cider vinegar with 2 Tbl sugar,and a tsp of mustard powder, mixed in 5 chopped hard boiled eggs and 3 sliced eggs on top of salad. In my opinion, it really does need all 3 cups of mayo--I started with 2 cups and then had to add the third. I rinsed and cooled the noodles before adding to the dressing. I will keep this recipe forever. I am taking it to a saint paddy's potluck tomorrow. Yo mama knew her stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HARRYMARTINII
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Not a single thing changed, and it was fantastic! I had never made Macaroni Salad before but found myself with a half a package cooked after making Mac n Cheese the night before. This turned out wonderful, with a nice kick to it. No weird ingredients -- all staples. Every time I had tasted Mac Salad before, it had no appeal because it was so bland -- this I (and my co-workers) loved. My partner does not care for mustard, so it wasn't a fave of his, but he was the *only* one to say so. *Everyone* else -- about 5 people -- loved it! This is the recipe you've been looking for. It will be in my cookbook for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I've made this twice. I can't save it to my recipe box as written because the preferred version is my second attempt at making it with revisions as follows: Less mustard- 3 Tbsps. and the type I used was a German, whole-grain dijon style. The addition of sweet red pepper relish in place of sweet pickle relish. Chopped in 1 medium red onion instead of the small green onions called for (store was out), and only 1 cup mayonnaise mixed with 2 Tbs sugar and approx 3 Tbsp apple cider vinegar (I suggest the vinegar be "to taste" as taste preferences vary from person to person). I kept the black olives (used jumbo size) but stuffed them with jarlsberg cheese because it together with the olives somewhat mimics the sweet/bold taste of the salad. I actually really liked that olive touch!! Thank you for providing me with inspiration to try a new type of pasta salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Parran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Thank God for Mothers !!! Simple to make and great raves from the guys. I cut back on the mustard and found that more people liked the recipe. This is a real crowd pleaser !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I did'nt put celery or black olives in mine. I put green onions, red and green bell peppers. It was the hit of the party!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I loved it and have made it more than once for family get togethers. Everyone was so impressed! The last time I made it I added some sunflower seeds to add some extra crunch. I liked the results, but then again I'm a nut freak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This was excellent. I was searching for a macaroni salad to serve with dinner but didn't want the same ol' thing. So I found this here and it was wonderful. My husband and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacheese2004

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This recipe turned put a little dry for me, but I loved the mustard in it. I will try to make again to see if it can turn out a little less dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
The ratio of mayonaise to mustard didn't seem quite right to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States