Mama's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I used Diva's changes: decrease the mustard to 1/4 cup, add 4 Tbl apple cider vinegar with 2 Tbl sugar, and a tsp of mustard powder. My son who is a big mustard fan, still thought it was overpowering in the macaroni salad, so next time, I'm skipping the prepared mustard, and using a bit more mustard powder. Also, I halved the recipe, and it still yielded 8 generous side dish servings. Overall, this is really a great recipe that I'm happy to have on hand for my son's favorite side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is really good! I had some leftover crabmeat & shrimp from another recipe so I put that in. I also cut down the mustard to 1/4 cup & it turned out delicious. Thanks Kalley, this is a keeper, with or without the seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was pretty good but a little bland for my taste. It is very simple though. I added a little bit of boiled eggs to make it a little different taste. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I made this as written and even the kids loved it. I would rate it a 4.5. I still felt it was missing something and I couldn't pin point what it was. It was also a little dry for my tastes. I'll make it again and maybe doctor it a little to find what I thought was missing. We didn't think there was too much mustard but then again my family loves mustard. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
The ratio of mustard to mayo was too strong. I'd cut back on the mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Way too much mustard for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
SUPURB SALAD! This is the 1st time making this salad! I made the salad verbatim,however I eyeballed the Mayo & mustard! I am an expert Cook! Thank You allrecipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
So similar to the way my mama taught me to make macaroni salad. Only change (for health and taste) is sub 1 cup NF plain yogurt for some of the mayo. I also season with some celery seed and tiny bit of cajun seasoning for just a bit of heat. Just like mama's!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Great salad...did reduce the mustard to 1/4 cup but I am sure it is great as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Thank God for Mothers !!! Simple to make and great raves from the guys. I cut back on the mustard and found that more people liked the recipe. This is a real crowd pleaser !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States