Mama's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I did'nt put celery or black olives in mine. I put green onions, red and green bell peppers. It was the hit of the party!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
EXCELLENT! Just what I wanted: a basic mac salad recipe. I would recommend mixing the mayo and mustard together and then slowly adding to the macaroni, to your taste (I am very particular about the amount of dressing on anything). I used the leftover mixture for deviled eggs and my mac salad was perfectly dressed. This is my new, official mac salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Grand Slam Mama! After reading the reviews, the only changes I made were decrease the mustard to 1/4 cup, add 4 Tbl apple cider vinegar with 2 Tbl sugar,and a tsp of mustard powder, mixed in 5 chopped hard boiled eggs and 3 sliced eggs on top of salad. In my opinion, it really does need all 3 cups of mayo--I started with 2 cups and then had to add the third. I rinsed and cooled the noodles before adding to the dressing. I will keep this recipe forever. I am taking it to a saint paddy's potluck tomorrow. Yo mama knew her stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This was excellent. I was searching for a macaroni salad to serve with dinner but didn't want the same ol' thing. So I found this here and it was wonderful. My husband and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacheese2004

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I loved it and have made it more than once for family get togethers. Everyone was so impressed! The last time I made it I added some sunflower seeds to add some extra crunch. I liked the results, but then again I'm a nut freak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This recipe turned put a little dry for me, but I loved the mustard in it. I will try to make again to see if it can turn out a little less dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I've made this twice. I can't save it to my recipe box as written because the preferred version is my second attempt at making it with revisions as follows: Less mustard- 3 Tbsps. and the type I used was a German, whole-grain dijon style. The addition of sweet red pepper relish in place of sweet pickle relish. Chopped in 1 medium red onion instead of the small green onions called for (store was out), and only 1 cup mayonnaise mixed with 2 Tbs sugar and approx 3 Tbsp apple cider vinegar (I suggest the vinegar be "to taste" as taste preferences vary from person to person). I kept the black olives (used jumbo size) but stuffed them with jarlsberg cheese because it together with the olives somewhat mimics the sweet/bold taste of the salad. I actually really liked that olive touch!! Thank you for providing me with inspiration to try a new type of pasta salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Should have read previous review before I made. The ratio is off - might be okay if you cut back on the mustard. Tastes like macaroni in mustard sauce. Won't make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
The ratio of mayonaise to mustard didn't seem quite right to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Turned out great for a graduation party. The colors begged to be ate. Did add a little more paprika, since I made a big dish, but everyone enjoyed and there was none left. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States