Mama's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I used Diva's changes: decrease the mustard to 1/4 cup, add 4 Tbl apple cider vinegar with 2 Tbl sugar, and a tsp of mustard powder. My son who is a big mustard fan, still thought it was overpowering in the macaroni salad, so next time, I'm skipping the prepared mustard, and using a bit more mustard powder. Also, I halved the recipe, and it still yielded 8 generous side dish servings. Overall, this is really a great recipe that I'm happy to have on hand for my son's favorite side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is really good! I had some leftover crabmeat & shrimp from another recipe so I put that in. I also cut down the mustard to 1/4 cup & it turned out delicious. Thanks Kalley, this is a keeper, with or without the seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was pretty good but a little bland for my taste. It is very simple though. I added a little bit of boiled eggs to make it a little different taste. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I made this as written and even the kids loved it. I would rate it a 4.5. I still felt it was missing something and I couldn't pin point what it was. It was also a little dry for my tastes. I'll make it again and maybe doctor it a little to find what I thought was missing. We didn't think there was too much mustard but then again my family loves mustard. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
The ratio of mustard to mayo was too strong. I'd cut back on the mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Way too much mustard for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
SUPURB SALAD! This is the 1st time making this salad! I made the salad verbatim,however I eyeballed the Mayo & mustard! I am an expert Cook! Thank You allrecipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Miles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
So similar to the way my mama taught me to make macaroni salad. Only change (for health and taste) is sub 1 cup NF plain yogurt for some of the mayo. I also season with some celery seed and tiny bit of cajun seasoning for just a bit of heat. Just like mama's!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Great salad...did reduce the mustard to 1/4 cup but I am sure it is great as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Thank God for Mothers !!! Simple to make and great raves from the guys. I cut back on the mustard and found that more people liked the recipe. This is a real crowd pleaser !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States