Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I love this recipe, I make it once in a while when I have a lot of people coming over, I've begin adding my own tid bits, depending on my guests, sriracha sometimes, or I make my own recipe for meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Delicious recipe? Yes. 20 minute prep? No way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Success all around as per the recipe! As with many soups, there is definitely seasoning preferences that one could apply to this recipe. However, made as per the recipe, my wife came by the kitchen as I was making this and said:”Wow! I can’t wait to taste that! It smells so good!” Well it is a keeper. My two young boys just gobbled it, and they did not even notice the spinach! The preparation work is pretty much spot on: it took me about 20 minutes. To save time on slicing all the spinach, you can do a chiffonade. Just stack a bunch of the leaves, roll the pile lengthwise into a fairly tight cigar shape, and slice across the cigar in close cuts. It seriously makes those two cups processed nicely in a jiffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Used store bought bite-sized Italian meatballs and followed the remainder of the recipe exactly. I brought it to church tonight and everyone raved! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I bake the meatballs first then add to the soup. I also add extra parm to the broth. I find it best to cook the pasta aside then add as i serve as the noodles can get too soft. It has been a hit every time i make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
THIS IS A GOOD BASIC RECIPE! IT IS A LITTLE BIT BLAND AS WRITTEN! I FLAVORED UP MY STOCK A BIT WITH A CHOPPED ONION ITALIAN SEASONING A LITTLE THYME.I USED GROUND TURKEY INSTEAD OF GROUND BEEF AND ADDED A CAN OF GREAT NORTHERN BEANS! THIS WAS A GOOD HEARTY SOUP!!! I WILL HAVE A LOT LEFT FOR PLENTY OF LEFTOVERS!! YUMMM!!! THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I made this yesterday for my family and they loved it. It has lots of flavour. I did use a pinch of Italian seasoning in my meatballs.chopped up an onion and put it in my soup instead. Also if you shape the meatballs into a rope then cut them in to equal sizes then roll them it's much easier less time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I made several changes based on these reviews and the soup was a big hit with my family: Used ground turkey instead of beef, Italian pizza seasoning instead of basil,added 2 cloves of garlic, (was "season to taste" assumed in the original? it needed about 1 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp black pepper),mixed in food processor for finer texture (could have used a bit more bread crumbs), and precooked in oven at 350 degrees until done - the meatballs really evoked the taste of sausage. Escarole instead of spinach was best suggestion here. Couldn't find pearl pasta and used precooked tiny shells - tiny bow-ties would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I thought this soup was okay. I had some similar flavored chicken meatballs to use up. When I did a keyword search, this came up. I definitely recommend making the homemade meatballs. They just flavor the soup well and are softer. However, besides that switch I had to made. It seemed like there was more broth than typical Italian wedding soup, it was saltier than I remember, and when I had made it homemade it also had more vegetables. It definitely needed zucchini. Not sure why, but when I sprinkled on the parmesan on top it clumped to the vegetables. Never had that happen before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
My whole family loves this soup! I did add a bit of minced garlic to the meatballs and also threw in some diced zuchini for a bit more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States