Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Almost as good as East Side Marios! I loved the flavor the spinach brought to the dish. I used those little balls of pasta instead of seashells and think it was a good idea. Easy to make dish I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Not bad! I used ground chicken for my meatballs and it came out pretty tasty. I added some garlic powder and a LOT of Italian seasoning. Doubled the spinach and used protein rich pasta elbows. The only thing I would do different and will do to my leftovers is add a chicken boullion cube to enhance the flavor of the broth or specifically purchas Wolfgang Pucks chix broth due to the added seasonings and flavors. Overall - this is a great recipe, I've got the base adn can add flare going forward! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I've made this recipe many times and it's become my favourite soup, hands down. I always use orzo pasta and fresh spinach, and of course salt and pepper (both in the meatballs and broth). Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Delicious and very easy. Went over very well with my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
good and easy to make. If you don't like making small meatballs just make big ones; they break up easily with a spoon once cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
While I did tweak the recipe a bit, it was a solid base for me to make an awesome soup, similar to what's served at some Olive Garden restaurants (notably, the one in Ross Park in Pittsburgh). I had about 2lbs of beef to use, so I doubled the meatball "stuff" (though I did sub about 1/4C cottage cheese for one of the eggs, simply because it needed to be used or tossed). I elected to use dried minced onion as opposed to fresh because my knife skills are lacking and can never seem to get a fine enough mince for my liking. Since I had so much meat, I used 3 cartons of stock: 2 chicken and 1 beef (I also added 2 packets of Swanson's Beef Flavor Boost). I began by sauteing about 1/4 of an onion and a spoonful of minced garlic in a dash of EVOO and then added the broth on high. I added the carrots as I diced them and then got to work on the meatballs, adding them as I rolled them (I was afraid I'd have too many meatballs, so I elected to bake some and freeze for even easier future soup). Once the meatballs were all added, I boiled the ancini de pepe (instead of the shells) in another pan (this is key or else the pasta will soak up all of the broth) while I chopped and added the spinach. Once the pasta was drained and rinsed, I added it to the soup, ladled it into bowls, topped w/fresh parmesan, and thoroughly enjoyed every last drop! THANKS for the jumping off point, Lalena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSCHRIS1221
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Really good soup! I have always loved Italian Wedding Soup from a can so I decided to make my own. Nice flavors for a mild soup. Followed suggestions from others and baked the meatballs before adding them into the soup (be sure to use non-stick cooking spray on the baking sheet) and added garlic. Nice addition. Also, since all the Italian Wedding Soup I have had in the past had chicken meatballs, (not beef) I used ground chicken instead of ground beef, and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
VERY GOOD SOUP!!! i baked the meatballs before adding them to the soup.the meatballs in the soup were really good to,love this soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I used frozen italian meatballs, fresh baby spinach, 2 quarts low-sodium chicken broth, diced carrot & elbow macaroni - FAST & EASY & YUMMY !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *perky*clo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I used orzo for the pasta. It was excellent but made a ton of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannen1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States