Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I tried this as written and liked it a lot. Then I tweaked it by using Ditalini instead of shells and escarole (soaked in salted water for 20 minutes to get rid of the bitterness) in place of spinach. This is an excellent recipe. thanks Lalena.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I would say this is pretty authentic, however substitute the spinich with escarole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andienlulu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Instead of the ground beef I like it better with Italian sausage to make the meatballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Good soup, but one addition. I've always added small cheese balls to the soup. Beat an egg or 2 and add Parmesan cheese until it's stiff enough to make into a ball, then drop into the hot soup at the end so they don't cook too long. These are my favorite part of the soup, so I always make more rather than less. They also add more flavor to the soup. Just be sure to make the cheese balls very tiny (about grape size) because they expand in the soup. Extra effort but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This is one of our favorite soups. I do add some garlic powder to the meatballs and I brown them before I put them in the soup. My husband doesn't like spinach, but he loves this soup! I serve this with some garlic bread sticks. This is a quick and easy meal for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This is as close to the Italian Wedding Soup my mother used to make. There wa never a recipe so I was not able to duplicate it. I tried this recipe the other day and it is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This recipe is fantastic. I used ground turkey instead of beef and I had to also increase the bread crumbs because the meat was too sticky. The flavor was really great. No need to add salt even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Great version - I loved it! So quick to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myriam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guanajuato, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
It would be better if the meatballs were cooked first. Otherwise it makes the soup too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This soup is fabulous! Absolute winner. I have made it twice now, no substitutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 121-130 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States