Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Very easy! I would have liked a little more flavor (maybe in the meatballs), but not bad at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Novi Sad, Vojvodina, Serbia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
My family loves Italian Wedding Soup, but it takes so much work the way my Nonna made it, I usually only make it twice a year. This recipe has changed our lives because it simplifies the whole process! Use a high quality chicken broth as it is a key ingredient. In the last 5 minutes, add a mixture of 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese and 2 beaten eggs. This will cook and float on the top. This adds something authentic to the recipe. I will eliminate the carrots next time as my "connoisseur" family suggested this. You can substitute acini di pepe or orzo pasta for the seashell pasta. To match my grandmother's recipe, here is how I made the meatballs which is very similar to Laiena's version: - 1 pound lean ground beef - 2 eggs, beaten - 1 cup Italian bread crumbs - 2 T grated parmesan cheese - 1/4 cup water - 1 tablespoon dried parsley (or double if fresh) - 2 gloves of minced for pressed garlic - 1 teaspoon salt Buon appetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
meatballs weren't as flavorful as i would've liked but overall a great recipe. it looked just like the soup i get at our italian restaurant near us. meatballs were labor intensive but i used another reviewers tip to roll meat into a rope and cut small pieces off. my daughter helped too. flavor was good. we used acini de pepe bc thats just how I've always had it. just don't ad too much pepe like i did. it was great the first day but we stored left overs in the fridge and by morning the pepe puffed up and really took over the soup. there wasn't enough liquid in it to call it soup anymore lol! it was sadly pepe surprise lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewCookinMama
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
We really enjoyed this recipe. My only change was to use a combination of ground beef and spicy bulk sausage for the meatballs and to brown them a bit before putting in the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BandMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Awesome! My husband said it was the best soup I've ever made. It was really easy, too. I did precook the meatballs a little in the oven, so they would be brown. I also used about 2 cups bowtie pasta instead of the shells. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Absolutely perfetto! After reading some reviews I substituted sweet Italian sausage for the extra lean ground beef, added spinach a few minutes before serving and used bow tie noodles instead of seashell pasta. Those three changes were my only recipe alterations, all else was followed. The sweet Italian sausage gave the chicken broth a wonderful flavor. Has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I have made this delicious recipe many many times. It was wonderful as it is but I liked lots of spinach and used orzo pasta. I also cooked up the meat balls before adding to soup as to get rid of any fat content. Absolutely wonderful> I make this so much as when I make it for the family I always freeze about 4 containers for my 85 year old mother who really enjoys it and looks forward to eating it. Thanks so much for sharing this great soup Barb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This was a delicious recipe! I had to cheat and use premade meatballs that I just cut into fourths and added at the end, but I'm sure it's just as great with the homemade meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlett

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States