Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
THIS IS A GOOD BASIC RECIPE! IT IS A LITTLE BIT BLAND AS WRITTEN! I FLAVORED UP MY STOCK A BIT WITH A CHOPPED ONION ITALIAN SEASONING A LITTLE THYME.I USED GROUND TURKEY INSTEAD OF GROUND BEEF AND ADDED A CAN OF GREAT NORTHERN BEANS! THIS WAS A GOOD HEARTY SOUP!!! I WILL HAVE A LOT LEFT FOR PLENTY OF LEFTOVERS!! YUMMM!!! THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I made this yesterday for my family and they loved it. It has lots of flavour. I did use a pinch of Italian seasoning in my meatballs.chopped up an onion and put it in my soup instead. Also if you shape the meatballs into a rope then cut them in to equal sizes then roll them it's much easier less time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I made several changes based on these reviews and the soup was a big hit with my family: Used ground turkey instead of beef, Italian pizza seasoning instead of basil,added 2 cloves of garlic, (was "season to taste" assumed in the original? it needed about 1 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp black pepper),mixed in food processor for finer texture (could have used a bit more bread crumbs), and precooked in oven at 350 degrees until done - the meatballs really evoked the taste of sausage. Escarole instead of spinach was best suggestion here. Couldn't find pearl pasta and used precooked tiny shells - tiny bow-ties would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I thought this soup was okay. I had some similar flavored chicken meatballs to use up. When I did a keyword search, this came up. I definitely recommend making the homemade meatballs. They just flavor the soup well and are softer. However, besides that switch I had to made. It seemed like there was more broth than typical Italian wedding soup, it was saltier than I remember, and when I had made it homemade it also had more vegetables. It definitely needed zucchini. Not sure why, but when I sprinkled on the parmesan on top it clumped to the vegetables. Never had that happen before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
My whole family loves this soup! I did add a bit of minced garlic to the meatballs and also threw in some diced zuchini for a bit more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Cut the recipe to 5 servings to make dinner for two. What a wonderful dish. Not to heavy, great teats and texture. Served with a few fresh strawberries on the side. Delightful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knotnevada

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fitzgerald, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I added more parm to the broth and baked the meatballs. This recipe turned out great and I have made it numerous times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Simple and Delicious! My family devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I used all the ingredients called for, the only difference was that I baked the meatballs first. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I make it often. Tried with meatballs cooked in the soup/broth and already baked in the oven. It's easier to pre cook the meatballs and freeze to have on hand when the urge hit to make another batch. This is one of our favorite soups and thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States