Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This was just okay. Nobody in my family was really thrilled with it. I think it was the meatballs. They changed consistency a little after simmering in the soup for an hour. Maybe if we ate it right away I could rate it higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I made this soup just as the recipe tells, and the only thing I think I'd change would be cooking the meatballs in a separate pan. The soup is wonderfully delicious, but has a nice fat residue film on top the longer it cools. I'll skim it off, but make it differently next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I would rate this 5 stars but I cooked my meatballs before putting them in the broth. Baked them for 15 minutes at 350 degrees. Was not willing to take a chance on the grease or the color. Added some onion to broth as well. This was very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I love this recipe, I make it once in a while when I have a lot of people coming over, I've begin adding my own tid bits, depending on my guests, sriracha sometimes, or I make my own recipe for meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Delicious recipe? Yes. 20 minute prep? No way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Success all around as per the recipe! As with many soups, there is definitely seasoning preferences that one could apply to this recipe. However, made as per the recipe, my wife came by the kitchen as I was making this and said:”Wow! I can’t wait to taste that! It smells so good!” Well it is a keeper. My two young boys just gobbled it, and they did not even notice the spinach! The preparation work is pretty much spot on: it took me about 20 minutes. To save time on slicing all the spinach, you can do a chiffonade. Just stack a bunch of the leaves, roll the pile lengthwise into a fairly tight cigar shape, and slice across the cigar in close cuts. It seriously makes those two cups processed nicely in a jiffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Used store bought bite-sized Italian meatballs and followed the remainder of the recipe exactly. I brought it to church tonight and everyone raved! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I bake the meatballs first then add to the soup. I also add extra parm to the broth. I find it best to cook the pasta aside then add as i serve as the noodles can get too soft. It has been a hit every time i make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
THIS IS A GOOD BASIC RECIPE! IT IS A LITTLE BIT BLAND AS WRITTEN! I FLAVORED UP MY STOCK A BIT WITH A CHOPPED ONION ITALIAN SEASONING A LITTLE THYME.I USED GROUND TURKEY INSTEAD OF GROUND BEEF AND ADDED A CAN OF GREAT NORTHERN BEANS! THIS WAS A GOOD HEARTY SOUP!!! I WILL HAVE A LOT LEFT FOR PLENTY OF LEFTOVERS!! YUMMM!!! THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I made this yesterday for my family and they loved it. It has lots of flavour. I did use a pinch of Italian seasoning in my meatballs.chopped up an onion and put it in my soup instead. Also if you shape the meatballs into a rope then cut them in to equal sizes then roll them it's much easier less time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States