Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Used a melon ball scoop to make the meatballs. They are uniform in size. Also in original Wedding soup, you beat one egg with a few tbls. of paresan/romano cheese and with a fork draw each forkful through the soup . Try it and eliminate the seashell pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is an absolute wonderful recipe. I don't normally like any soup (chicken broth based) This one however I loved. My Grandfather whom was born in Italy would roll over in his grave and say, God Bless you Brenda for always keeping up with traditional Italian Foods. I made it this Mother's Day Weekend and my Momma, who's 80 years old and Italian of course like Gramps, was quite impressed. Being a diabetic she was happy with a soup that was nutritious and delicious! My Dad 83 years of age, loved it also. He has some peptic problems and this was gentle on his tummy. I pretty much followed this to the T, but I did add some fresh mushrooms,as well all my spices & onions & carrots where fresh from my garden! This is a keeper and I'm making it again this weekend so I can have some to bring for my lunches and also to my Mom & Dads! Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Briscoe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Carrabelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Yummy! Had to use beef stock because I didn't have chicken, used orzo, and pre-cooked the meatballs in the oven for 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Allister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
very good soup, I add tortellinis and I also use venison burger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I made it with the meatballs and it was great however, the next time I substituted sliced lean chicken and it was amazing. Made it for school and the kids inhaled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Excellent as is. A great light dinner served with italian bread. My family loves eating it while watching TV. They slurp on small bowls all evening. What's not to like? While I hate reviews where people change the recipe I confess I do sometimes I add 1 clove of Garlic. Another pet peve is the recipe calls for seashells and the picture shows rotelli!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by debruttenbur
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Everyone loved this! Because the meatballs are cooked in the soup, definitely use the leanest ground beef you can find. I used Laura's Lean (97/3), and the soup was perfect. If your beef isn't lean enough, you'll end up with greasy soup (ick). Wonderful recipe and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debruttenbur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Great recipe. I do 1/2 beef and 1/2 chicken broth. Also use orzo, fresh garlic, fresh spinach. This is the perfect italian dish-use whatever broth, mixture of meat and pasta you want. Grew up in an italian family and a dish never comes out the same way twice-that what makes all the dishes great-put your own spin on it-It's The Italian Way! (Also use a oiled melon baller for the meatballs)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I've been using this recipe for several years now and am finally getting around to reviewing it. I love this soup--it comes together relatively quickly and makes a LOT; great for feeding a crowd. I've used ground turkey for the meatballs and it works very well. It is a challenge to get small meatballs; I find that coating my hands with non-stick cooking spray helps. I also substitute onion & garlic powder for the chopped onion; I prefer the texture given the meatballs were so small. I also leave out the pasta and add it to individual bowls, otherwise it does absorb the broth and become mushy. Thanks, Lalena for this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I have been making this for quite a while. I have made a couple of changes. I use Orzo noodles instead of the pasta and I get my meatballs from Gordon's foods. They are already cooked which cuts prep time in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States