Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I've been using this recipe for several years now and am finally getting around to reviewing it. I love this soup--it comes together relatively quickly and makes a LOT; great for feeding a crowd. I've used ground turkey for the meatballs and it works very well. It is a challenge to get small meatballs; I find that coating my hands with non-stick cooking spray helps. I also substitute onion & garlic powder for the chopped onion; I prefer the texture given the meatballs were so small. I also leave out the pasta and add it to individual bowls, otherwise it does absorb the broth and become mushy. Thanks, Lalena for this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I have been making this for quite a while. I have made a couple of changes. I use Orzo noodles instead of the pasta and I get my meatballs from Gordon's foods. They are already cooked which cuts prep time in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I noticed on reviewer commented on how labor intensive it was to make the tiny meatballs. I saw a chef make them by shaping some of the meat into a "rope", cutting the rope into 3/4" segments, and then rolling a bunch of them at once with his hand pressing them against the counter. It was very clever and made quick work of it - hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
My mother made this reciepe with small pieces of chicken added to the broth. Boil 1 chicken breast before adding to soup mixture. Goes great with the meatballs and gives it extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Delicious and easy to make!!! I followed everything but I added a cup of milk with the chicken stock :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I make this frequently, however, I prefer to use the meatloaf mix (veal, pork, and beef combined). Most grocery stores sell it as meatloaf mix. In addition, I use BOTH garlic (fresh) and onion. Makes a big difference to not use garlic powder. Also, it is just as nutritious to use frozen chopped spinach. MUSIC_MINX, below has a great tip for making the meatballs. Tried it, and it works great! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I have made a similar recipe for years with one big difference. Instead of Ground beef, use Italian sausage. It is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Middleton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Creve Coeur, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Quite often acidity is left out of recipes. This is spot on served with a wedge of lemon. Balances everything nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmburrows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This soup came out awesome. I used half lean beef and half ground pork. Used Italian seasoned bread crumbs and used the really petite carrots in a bag and chopped them up they were perfect when time was up. I used a melon ballet to size meat balls which also were perfectly cooked at this time. I agree that the spinach needed to be switched with escarole because it holds up more but other than that being a true Italian this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms_bella_303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Really good, and even my picky, soup-avoiding husband liked it! I baked the meatballs first, cooked the pasta separately, added cheese tortellini and served with crusty garlic bread. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States