Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I have been making this for quite a while. I have made a couple of changes. I use Orzo noodles instead of the pasta and I get my meatballs from Gordon's foods. They are already cooked which cuts prep time in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I noticed on reviewer commented on how labor intensive it was to make the tiny meatballs. I saw a chef make them by shaping some of the meat into a "rope", cutting the rope into 3/4" segments, and then rolling a bunch of them at once with his hand pressing them against the counter. It was very clever and made quick work of it - hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
My mother made this reciepe with small pieces of chicken added to the broth. Boil 1 chicken breast before adding to soup mixture. Goes great with the meatballs and gives it extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Delicious and easy to make!!! I followed everything but I added a cup of milk with the chicken stock :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I make this frequently, however, I prefer to use the meatloaf mix (veal, pork, and beef combined). Most grocery stores sell it as meatloaf mix. In addition, I use BOTH garlic (fresh) and onion. Makes a big difference to not use garlic powder. Also, it is just as nutritious to use frozen chopped spinach. MUSIC_MINX, below has a great tip for making the meatballs. Tried it, and it works great! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I have made a similar recipe for years with one big difference. Instead of Ground beef, use Italian sausage. It is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Middleton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Creve Coeur, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Quite often acidity is left out of recipes. This is spot on served with a wedge of lemon. Balances everything nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmburrows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This soup came out awesome. I used half lean beef and half ground pork. Used Italian seasoned bread crumbs and used the really petite carrots in a bag and chopped them up they were perfect when time was up. I used a melon ballet to size meat balls which also were perfectly cooked at this time. I agree that the spinach needed to be switched with escarole because it holds up more but other than that being a true Italian this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms_bella_303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Really good, and even my picky, soup-avoiding husband liked it! I baked the meatballs first, cooked the pasta separately, added cheese tortellini and served with crusty garlic bread. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Fantastic as is except thinly sliced spinach only needs 2 - 3 min cooking time. I added mine at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 475) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States