Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Quite often acidity is left out of recipes. This is spot on served with a wedge of lemon. Balances everything nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmburrows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This soup came out awesome. I used half lean beef and half ground pork. Used Italian seasoned bread crumbs and used the really petite carrots in a bag and chopped them up they were perfect when time was up. I used a melon ballet to size meat balls which also were perfectly cooked at this time. I agree that the spinach needed to be switched with escarole because it holds up more but other than that being a true Italian this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms_bella_303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Really good, and even my picky, soup-avoiding husband liked it! I baked the meatballs first, cooked the pasta separately, added cheese tortellini and served with crusty garlic bread. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Fantastic as is except thinly sliced spinach only needs 2 - 3 min cooking time. I added mine at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Very good! Try using a small cookie scoop for the meatballs. They come out perfect, and you don't have to touch the meat with your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Great recipe. I'm very fortunate to have an Italian deli that makes the best tiny meatballs. We always have them on hand. This recipe is almost the same that I have been using for several years. Always a favorite with family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I tried this as written and liked it a lot. Then I tweaked it by using Ditalini instead of shells and escarole (soaked in salted water for 20 minutes to get rid of the bitterness) in place of spinach. This is an excellent recipe. thanks Lalena.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I would say this is pretty authentic, however substitute the spinich with escarole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andienlulu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Instead of the ground beef I like it better with Italian sausage to make the meatballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Good soup, but one addition. I've always added small cheese balls to the soup. Beat an egg or 2 and add Parmesan cheese until it's stiff enough to make into a ball, then drop into the hot soup at the end so they don't cook too long. These are my favorite part of the soup, so I always make more rather than less. They also add more flavor to the soup. Just be sure to make the cheese balls very tiny (about grape size) because they expand in the soup. Extra effort but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States