Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This soup is surprisingly delicious, so simple and easy to make but really tastes like you spend all day making this soup. I added celery to the soup and used Acini Di Pepe pasta (tiny round balls), but otherwise followed the recipe. SO happy with the result! Definitely will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Great easy soup! I substituted orzo as the pasta for personal preference. I also simmered the soup for about 20 min. which made the broth more flavorful, I think. Very hearty! My family was stuffed after 1 bowl and we had lots of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Not as good as I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This soup recipe was not my favorite tasting. I really didn't like the taste of it. What I might do next time is change the chicken broth; I used Progresso which I used in other dishes and Progresso is not my favorite tasting broth either. I will try this recipe again. The meatballs were okay but I think 3/4 size is too big for this soup. And the pasta was not enough; more pasta. That being said, this soup was just okay for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
The flavor of this soup is sooo good! The only change I will make next time will be to fry or bake the meatballs before adding them to the soup. I found that boiling them left that layer of funkiness on the top of the soup, and I tried to skim it off, but the spinach gets skimmed off with it. It doesn't change the flavor though, so that's good. Overall a great recipe that's easy to make. I will surely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Used a melon ball scoop to make the meatballs. They are uniform in size. Also in original Wedding soup, you beat one egg with a few tbls. of paresan/romano cheese and with a fork draw each forkful through the soup . Try it and eliminate the seashell pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is an absolute wonderful recipe. I don't normally like any soup (chicken broth based) This one however I loved. My Grandfather whom was born in Italy would roll over in his grave and say, God Bless you Brenda for always keeping up with traditional Italian Foods. I made it this Mother's Day Weekend and my Momma, who's 80 years old and Italian of course like Gramps, was quite impressed. Being a diabetic she was happy with a soup that was nutritious and delicious! My Dad 83 years of age, loved it also. He has some peptic problems and this was gentle on his tummy. I pretty much followed this to the T, but I did add some fresh mushrooms,as well all my spices & onions & carrots where fresh from my garden! This is a keeper and I'm making it again this weekend so I can have some to bring for my lunches and also to my Mom & Dads! Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Carrabelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Yummy! Had to use beef stock because I didn't have chicken, used orzo, and pre-cooked the meatballs in the oven for 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
very good soup, I add tortellinis and I also use venison burger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I made it with the meatballs and it was great however, the next time I substituted sliced lean chicken and it was amazing. Made it for school and the kids inhaled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States