Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This is good stuff! I am so glad I tried this. I was skeptical about this one for a few reasons. 1. I thought the soup would get greasy. 2. It didn't seem like it would have enough seasoning. 3. I thought the pasta would absorb all of the broth. I used venison burger, which is much leaner so perhaps that's why grease wasn't an issue. I did add some fresh garlic to the meatball mixture and more bread crumbs than called for. (It was too wet otherwise.) I kept adding spinach. Almost used a whole bag. You don't even need to slice it because it shrinks so much. I did cook the pasta separately and then added it at the end. Just added a tiny bit of black pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Loved this! Always wanted to make it. I used Bovril chicken stock (100ml) to 10cups of water. Added 2 minced garlic gloves to the meat mix. Used fresh Parmesan cheese. Used DeCecco-Acini di pepe no.78 tiny pasta. (Looks like little tiny round dots) Very tasty, everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Super easy and everyone loved it. Will definitely do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tiffythatsme
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I added the meatballs first to make sure they would be cooked through, then a few minutes later the pasta and carrots, and the spinach right at the end. Everything was perfect. Kids and parents all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I loved this! I did add some things and make some changes. I added 2 celery stalks and a can of chunk chicken. I cooked the meatballs for 15 mins at 370 in the oven. I also cooked the pasta before hand than added it to the broth. I will be eating this all week for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I've not had Italian Wedding soup before, but I'm sold on it with this recipe. Very good! It's a soup for meat lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Jackson, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
My daughter can't get enough of this soup. We substituted ground turkey for the beef, but otherwise, followed the recipe to the letter. It was delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This was just okay. Nobody in my family was really thrilled with it. I think it was the meatballs. They changed consistency a little after simmering in the soup for an hour. Maybe if we ate it right away I could rate it higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I made this soup just as the recipe tells, and the only thing I think I'd change would be cooking the meatballs in a separate pan. The soup is wonderfully delicious, but has a nice fat residue film on top the longer it cools. I'll skim it off, but make it differently next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I would rate this 5 stars but I cooked my meatballs before putting them in the broth. Baked them for 15 minutes at 350 degrees. Was not willing to take a chance on the grease or the color. Added some onion to broth as well. This was very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States