Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Delicious and easy to make!!! I followed everything but I added a cup of milk with the chicken stock :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I make this frequently, however, I prefer to use the meatloaf mix (veal, pork, and beef combined). Most grocery stores sell it as meatloaf mix. In addition, I use BOTH garlic (fresh) and onion. Makes a big difference to not use garlic powder. Also, it is just as nutritious to use frozen chopped spinach. MUSIC_MINX, below has a great tip for making the meatballs. Tried it, and it works great! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I have made a similar recipe for years with one big difference. Instead of Ground beef, use Italian sausage. It is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Middleton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Creve Coeur, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Quite often acidity is left out of recipes. This is spot on served with a wedge of lemon. Balances everything nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmburrows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This soup came out awesome. I used half lean beef and half ground pork. Used Italian seasoned bread crumbs and used the really petite carrots in a bag and chopped them up they were perfect when time was up. I used a melon ballet to size meat balls which also were perfectly cooked at this time. I agree that the spinach needed to be switched with escarole because it holds up more but other than that being a true Italian this was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ms_bella_303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Really good, and even my picky, soup-avoiding husband liked it! I baked the meatballs first, cooked the pasta separately, added cheese tortellini and served with crusty garlic bread. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Fantastic as is except thinly sliced spinach only needs 2 - 3 min cooking time. I added mine at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Very good! Try using a small cookie scoop for the meatballs. They come out perfect, and you don't have to touch the meat with your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Great recipe. I'm very fortunate to have an Italian deli that makes the best tiny meatballs. We always have them on hand. This recipe is almost the same that I have been using for several years. Always a favorite with family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I tried this as written and liked it a lot. Then I tweaked it by using Ditalini instead of shells and escarole (soaked in salted water for 20 minutes to get rid of the bitterness) in place of spinach. This is an excellent recipe. thanks Lalena.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States