Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Excellent! This was so tasty. The only tweaks I made was to brown the meatballs before putting it into the broth and I used Orzo instead of Seashell pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krykket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
excellent soup. I added 2 sliced Italian squash, 1 cup diced white onion and used half chicken stock & half broth. Added a little dry oregano to the soup, it came out very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I never had Italian wedding soup before but my fiancée daughter loves it so I decided to try it out and chose this recipe. Not only did she love it but I loved it too! The only thing I slightly changed was I used 1 cup of chopped spinach and 1 cup of fresh chopped parsley and I added a little salt and pepper while it was cooking. Mmmmm this may be mynnew favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I made this with homemade chicken bone broth and grassfed ground beef, and I didn't have regular bread crumbs, so I used panko. I used a small cookie scoop to make the meatballs and that worked out really nicely (quick and easy). I did not pre-cook the meatballs, and that worked out great, not at all greasy. I would definitely make this again. My husband had two helpings and was still picking out meatballs from the children's bowls afterwards, he loved it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I browned the meatballs first as another reviewer suggested. My whole family loved this soup, including my 1 year old. Quick, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This soup was excellent! I browned the meatballs in the empty pot before putting any of the other ingredients in so that I could use the drippings for extra flavor. I also added some garlic to the meatballs. My recommendation to anyone making this soup is to make sure you don't use low sodium broth. Since the flavors of this soup are so mild, you really need a more flavorful broth for flavor. I think a low sodium broth would make this very bland. I will be making this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I love this soup. I did alter it a bit, used acini de pepe pasta and cut back in the spinach. Very tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I used this recipe as an inspiration...changed a few things to fit my tastes, mainly I traded the pasta for potatoes...probably not traditional but it was really, really yummy! Thanks for the base recipe, which I expanded upon with my own ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This soup was really good. The meatballs took a long to make but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Meatballs when dropped in the simmering broth some fell apart and it also clouded the broth. I like a clearer broth for my wedding soup, more appetizing looking. I will make this again, but next time roll into a long tube, and cut the balls off that, and then bake in the oven until browned, THEN add them to the broth after the grease is rendered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States