Mama's Italian Wedding Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Excellent as is. A great light dinner served with italian bread. My family loves eating it while watching TV. They slurp on small bowls all evening. What's not to like? While I hate reviews where people change the recipe I confess I do sometimes I add 1 clove of Garlic. Another pet peve is the recipe calls for seashells and the picture shows rotelli!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by debruttenbur
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Everyone loved this! Because the meatballs are cooked in the soup, definitely use the leanest ground beef you can find. I used Laura's Lean (97/3), and the soup was perfect. If your beef isn't lean enough, you'll end up with greasy soup (ick). Wonderful recipe and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debruttenbur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Great recipe. I do 1/2 beef and 1/2 chicken broth. Also use orzo, fresh garlic, fresh spinach. This is the perfect italian dish-use whatever broth, mixture of meat and pasta you want. Grew up in an italian family and a dish never comes out the same way twice-that what makes all the dishes great-put your own spin on it-It's The Italian Way! (Also use a oiled melon baller for the meatballs)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I've been using this recipe for several years now and am finally getting around to reviewing it. I love this soup--it comes together relatively quickly and makes a LOT; great for feeding a crowd. I've used ground turkey for the meatballs and it works very well. It is a challenge to get small meatballs; I find that coating my hands with non-stick cooking spray helps. I also substitute onion & garlic powder for the chopped onion; I prefer the texture given the meatballs were so small. I also leave out the pasta and add it to individual bowls, otherwise it does absorb the broth and become mushy. Thanks, Lalena for this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I have been making this for quite a while. I have made a couple of changes. I use Orzo noodles instead of the pasta and I get my meatballs from Gordon's foods. They are already cooked which cuts prep time in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I noticed on reviewer commented on how labor intensive it was to make the tiny meatballs. I saw a chef make them by shaping some of the meat into a "rope", cutting the rope into 3/4" segments, and then rolling a bunch of them at once with his hand pressing them against the counter. It was very clever and made quick work of it - hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
My mother made this reciepe with small pieces of chicken added to the broth. Boil 1 chicken breast before adding to soup mixture. Goes great with the meatballs and gives it extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Delicious and easy to make!!! I followed everything but I added a cup of milk with the chicken stock :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I make this frequently, however, I prefer to use the meatloaf mix (veal, pork, and beef combined). Most grocery stores sell it as meatloaf mix. In addition, I use BOTH garlic (fresh) and onion. Makes a big difference to not use garlic powder. Also, it is just as nutritious to use frozen chopped spinach. MUSIC_MINX, below has a great tip for making the meatballs. Tried it, and it works great! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I have made a similar recipe for years with one big difference. Instead of Ground beef, use Italian sausage. It is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Middleton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Creve Coeur, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mama's Italian Wedding Soup

This tasty soup is brimming with meatballs, pasta, and fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States